Parkview's Wolff, Gwinnett's most decorated soccer player, retires

Parkview grad Josh Wolff, shown in a press conference prior to the 2006 World Cup, announced is on the ballot for the National Soccer Hall of Fame. (File photo)

Parkview grad Josh Wolff is on the ballot for the National Soccer Hall of Fame Class of 2017.

In order to be eligible for election as a player, an individual must be retired for at least three full calendar years, but for no more than 10 full calendar years, and have either played in at least 20 full international games for the U.S. or played at least five seasons in an American first-division professional league and named to a postseason league All-Star team at least once.

Wolff, a member of the Gwinnett County Sports Hall of Fame, played 15 years of pro soccer, mostly in Major League Soccer for the Chicago Fire and Kansas City Wizards. He also played two seasons in Germany with 1860 Munich.

The forward also earned 52 caps with the U.S. National Team from 1999-2008, scoring nine goals and competing for World Cup teams in 2002 and 2006. He scored the first goal in the Americans’ famous “Dos a Cero” victory over Mexico in sub-freezing temperatures during World Cup qualifying.

Wolff is currently an assistant coach with the Columbus Crew after beginning his coaching career with D.C. United.

The voting pool includes all past and present full Men's and Women's National Team coaches, all active MLS and NWSL head coaches with a minimum of four years of experience as a head coach at the highest level in the United States, MLS and NWSL management representatives, the MLS and NWSL Commissioners/Executive Director, U.S. Soccer CEO/Secretary General, U.S. Soccer President, designated media members and all Hall of Famers.

Each voter can select up to 10 candidates per ballot. Any player appearing on at least 66.7 percent of ballots will earn election, while any player who does not appear on at least five percent of ballots will be removed from voting contention until they qualify for the Veteran ballot.

2017 National Soccer Hall of Fame Player Ballot

Chris Albright

Chris Armas

David Beckham

Gregg Berhalter

Danny Califf

Joe Cannon

Steve Cherundolo

Brian Ching

Jeff Cunningham

Tina Frimpong Ellertson

Eddie Gaven

Amado Guevara

Kevin Hartman

Frankie Hejduk

Chris Klein

Jason Kreis

Eddie Lewis

Kate Sobrero Markgraf

Pablo Mastroeni

Clint Mathis

Tiffeny Milbrett

Heather Mitts

Jaime Moreno

Ben Olsen

Pat Onstad

Leslie Osborne

Steve Ralston

Ante Razov

Tony Sanneh

Briana Scurry

Taylor Twellman

Aly Wagner

Josh Wolff

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please log in, or sign up for a new, free account to read or post comments.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.