Gwinnett students win gifted education awards

Gwinnett County Public Schools announced in a press release on Monday 54 students were named Gifted Students of the Year by The Gwinnett Alliance for Gifted Education.

Gwinnett County Public Schools announced The Gwinnett Alliance for Gifted Education 2018 award and scholarship winners on Monday.

Winners attended the organization’s 37th Annual Awards Ceremony on April 17 at the Gwinnett Environmental and Heritage Center in Buford.

A total of 54 students were named GAGE Gifted Students of the year. In addition the organization presented six $100 scholarships. The recipients were Hajun Kim of Level Creek Elementary School, Olivia Lindsey and David Sanchez of Pharr Elementary School, Keshave Parthasarathy of Coleman Middle School, Aminah Muhammad of Northbrook Middle School and Randal Tart of Pinckneyville Middle School.

Two students, Norcross High School seniors Leala Ho and Ian Huelsbeck, earned the Ruth Cowan and Annette Eger scholarships. The $500 scholarships are named after gifted educators who worked in Gwinnett.

Britt Elementary School principal Melissa Madsen was honored as the organization’s Administrator of the Year and Mona Brawley, a teacher at Partee Elementary School, was named the GAGE Elementary Teacher of the Year.

Monchello Curry was selected Outstanding Parent of the Year and Dr. Hector Rosario was named Hughes Award winner, which is given to an individual, club, business, corporation, or civic group that makes an outstanding contribution to GCPS gifted program.

The full list of honorees:

GAGE High School Gifted Students of the Year

• Muhammad Faisthalab, Berkmar High School

• Freddy Ayala, Central Gwinnett High School

• Rebecca Schaefer, Collins Hill High School

• Ryan Lamp, Dacula High School

• Fateha Zannath, Discovery High School

• Jackson Baird, Duluth High School

• Connor Caldwell, Gwinnett Online Campus

• Hannah Blas, South Gwinnett High School

• Bryan Gomez, Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology

GAGE Middle School Gifted Students of the Year

• Murphy Jordan, Bay Creek Middle School

• Ivan Zheng, Coleman Middle School

• Helen Nguyen, Couch Middle School

• Kunal Sahoo, Creekland Middle School

• Leynie Hester, Dacula Middle School

• An Vu, Duluth Middle School

• Lily Burton, Five Forks Middle School

• Preneet Sandhu, Osborne Middle School

• Ashley Calderon, Grace Snell Middle School

• Stacy Yoon, Hull Middle School

• Namtip Aphithanakhun, Richards Middle School

• Gabrielle Zachery, McConnell Middle School

• Nii Kwatei Quartey-Papafio, Northbrook Middle School

• Randal Tart, Pinckneyville Middle School

• Katelyn McConnell, Snellville Middle School

• Mathew Perez, Twin River Middle School

GAGE Elementary Gifted Students of the Year

• Audrey Woodall, Alcova Elementary School

• Dakota Dalton, Alford Elementary School

• Sergio Ulysse, Anderson-Livsey Elementary School

• Naimah Stewart, Annistown Elementary School

• Kimberly Hoang, Arcado Elementary School

• Tanya Franco, Baggett Elementary School

• Khang P. Tran, Baldwin Elementary School

• Kaylee Liang, Beaver Ridge Elementary School

• Burhanuddin Ali, Benefield Elementary School

• Elsie Rankin, Berkeley Lake Elementary School

• Asim Yoonas, Bethesda Elementary School

• Lilianna Arnold, Britt Elementary School

• Claire Jing, Brookwood Elementary School

• Ethan Lee, Burnette Elementary School

• Kelly Craciun, Cedar Hill Elementary School

• Yaphet Teklemariam, Centerville Elementary School

• Julia Le, Chattahoochee Elementary School

• Sherly Aguilar-Vega, Chesney Elementary School

• Ashlyn Chafin, Cooper Elementary School

• Kya Lewis, Corley Elementary School

• Pius Iyamu, Dacula Elementary School

• Haley Tucker, Duncan Creek Elementary School

• Liliana Pittman, Dyer Elementary School

• Angie Pham, Ferguson Elementary School

• Sam Dunseth, Fort Daniel Elementary School

• Sydney Scheiwe, Freeman’s Mill Elementary School

• Mehek Saha, Harbins Elementary School

• Ashley Q. Pierre, Harmony Elementary School

• Hieu Bui, Ivy Creek Elementary School

• Benjamin Badinger, Jackson Elementary School

• Ayman Kahn, Taylor Elementary School

• Anya Butkovich, Knight Elementary School

• Jack Hunsaker, Level Creek Elementary School

• Michelle Diep, Lilburn Elementary School

• Fareed Ahmed, Lovin Elementary School

• Rhea Shah, Mason Elementary School

• Riley Murdoch, McKendree Elementary School

• Safaa Mohammed, Minor Elementary School

• Charles Deng, Norcross Elementary School

• Jace Lee, Parsons Elementary School

• Emma Hotilovac, Patrick Elementary School

• Sydney Hammond, Pharr Elementary School

• Evelyn Foley, R.D. Head Elementary School

• Victoria Choi, Riverside Elementary School

• Salvador Soto-Trevino, Rockbridge Elementary School

• Galileu Carvalho, Rosebud Elementary School

• Kirsten Larsen, Shiloh Elementary School

• Andrew Sama, Simpson Elementary School

• Camari Terrelonge, Starling Elementary School

• Layla Chancellor, Stripling Elementary School

• Amy Ndoye, Suwanee Elementary School

• Zachary Stephey, Sycamore Elementary School

• Phoebe Mikanda, Trip Elementary School

• Anabel E. Dew, Woodward Mill Elementary School

I graduated from Brookwood High School and Georgia Southern University with a degree in Journalism. I cover news and education for the largest school system in the state of Georgia.

Support Local Journalism

Now, more than ever, the world needs trustworthy reporting—but good journalism isn’t free. Please support us by subscribing or making a contribution today.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Please log in, or sign up for a new, free account to read or post comments.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.