The Atlanta Sports Hall of Fame released its list of six new members, including two Gwinnett natives, Wednesday afternoon.

The organization’s 10th annual induction and award ceremony features Duluth’s George Rogers and Buford’s Cindy Brogdon, a former star basketball player at Greater Atlanta Christian. They will be inducted alongside famed Atlanta sports and TV mogul Ted Turner, longtime Atlanta Braves pitcher John Smoltz, Olympic gold medalist Antonio McKay and late Cobb County high school sports coach and administrator Corky Kell.

Rogers won the 1980 Heisman Trophy for South Carolina and was the NFL rookie of the year for the New Orleans Saints. He also won a Super Bowl title with the Washington Redskins. Brogdon led GAC to three state basketball titles, was an All-American at Tennessee, played in the Olympics and is a member of the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame.

The class of 2014 will be honored during a Feb. 7 ceremony at the Buckhead Theater that will also celebrate 10 years of the Hall of Fame honoring Atlanta’s greatest sports legends. The evening’s festivities, which include a reception, silent auction and a parade of past inductees, concludes with the awards and induction ceremony.

Tickets will be available for purchase beginning Nov. 1 at For group ticket information or sponsorship information, contact Larry Winter at 770-714-2246. Additional information is available at

The Atlanta Sports Hall of Fame’s mission is to honor Atlanta sports heroes, remember great moments in Atlanta Sports history and preserve the past from which future generations can learn and take pride.