Early turnout for runoff ‘average,’ advance voting ends July 18

As advance voting for next Tuesday’s runoff draws to a close, fewer than 1 percent of Gwinnett’s 457,111 registered voters had cast ballots as of July 17.

“It’s about average,” Gwinnett County Elections Director Lynn Ledford said of the early totals. “The runoffs are generally much smaller turnouts than other elections.”

According to Ledford, turnout for runoff elections is normally in the 15-20 percent range.

As of Thursday, a total of 4,088 ballots had been received. Of those, approximately 75 percent were cast in person at the Gwinnett County Voter Registration and Elections Office.

By party, Republican voters have far outnumbered Democrats casting 3,782 of the ballots received to date. Unlike Democrats, however, GOP voters have several races yet to be decided.

In the race for U.S. Senate, Republican voters will choose between U.S. Rep. Jack Kingston and businessman David Perdue. The winner will face Democrat Michelle Nunn in November.

During the hotly contested primary for the U.S. Congress District 10 seat, two Republican candidates finished with nearly equal shares of the vote — businessman Mike Collins and former pastor and radio personality Jody Hice. Ken Dious was unopposed in the Democratic primary and will face Hice or Collins in the general election.

Michael Buck and Richard Woods were the top vote-getters in the Republican primary for state school superintendent. The winner will face either Democrat Valarie Wilson or Alisha Morgan in November.

In the race for State Senate District 9, former Gwinnett County Commissioner Mike Beaudreau and former Lawrenceville City Councilman P.K. Martin beat out incumbent Don Balfour to secure spots in the runoff. Democratic candidate Timothy Swiney had no opposition during the primary.

Voters may cast ballots on Friday, July 18, the last day of advance voting, at the Gwinnett County Voter Registration and Elections Office, located at 455 Grayson Highway, Suite 200 in Lawrenceville, from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. On July 22, voters will cast ballots at their regular polling place.

Voters may view sample ballots and their election day polling place my visiting the “My Voter Page” on the Georgia Secretary of State website at http://www.mvp.sos.ga.gov.