26 Gwinnett County Public Schools seniors named National Achievement semifinalists

Honorees from Gwinnett County Public Schools:

Archer High: Destineé L. Pope

Berkmar High: Mati T. Nemera and Kwame A. Romero Sackey

Collins Hill High: Mary U. Nosa

Duluth High: Jasmine M. Bouges, Ebuka Imachukwu

Grayson High: Brendan J. Baird, Maya A. Carter, Gabrielle W. Johnson, Audriana Simms and Sydney A. Wade

Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology: Kimberly Fievre, Chinye E. Ijeli, Renae R. Irving, David P. Mbonu, Kira Pyronneau, Donovan Sylve, and Colin O. Webb

Mountain View High: Wandia N. Mureithi

Norcross High: Etienne N. Laccruche, Anya M. Martin

North Gwinnett High: Kara P. Jones

Parkview High: Milan M. Ravenell

Peachtree Ridge High: Leesa C. Quinlan, Imani A. Scott-Blackwell, Lauren A. Taylor

SUWANEE — Nearly 30 black students with bright futures were selected to be in the running for scholarship money awarded to high-performing high school seniors.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation named 26 Gwinnett County Public Schools students as semifinalists for 800 achievement scholarship awards worth more than $2.5 million. Of the 11 schools who had students chosen, the Gwinnett School of Math, Science and Technology led the way with seven students, followed by Grayson High, which had five semifinalists.

The National Achievement Scholarship Program, founded in 1964, honors and provides scholarships to academically promising black American students annually recognizes high-performing high school seniors who now compete with 1,600 students from other parts of the nation for the scholarships which will be announced in the spring.