Buford adds three to athletic hall of fame

The three latest selections for the Buford Athletics Hall of Fame will be honored this week at the annual banquet and at the Wolves’ home football game against White County.

Football and track standout Mikey Henderson (Class of 2003), three-sport star Bobby Davis (Class of 1959) and basketball standout Kim Buffington-Taylor (Class of 1983) were chosen as this year’s inductees. They will be the guests of honor at the induction banquet Thursday night at the Buford Community Center, then will be introduced Friday during the pre-game festivities at the home football game vs. White County.

Henderson, who currently teaches and coaches at Parkview, was a key player on two state championship and one state runner-up teams his final three years at Buford, catching 25 passes for 714 yards and 11 touchdowns as a junior and scoring six TDs as a senior. A two-time all-state selection in football, he also won a state title in track and field with the Wolves’ 400-meter relay team in 2002. After graduation, he earned All-SEC kick return honors for Georgia in 2007 and caught the 25-yard, game-winning TD pass vs. Alabama that same season. He also earned SEC Academic Honor Roll acclaim.

Davis was a four-year starter and four-year letter winner in football, basketball and track during his high school career. He was a first-team all-state halfback as a football senior and won a weekly state player of the week award after a three-TD game vs. Norcross. The longtime Buford resident also has regularly attended home and away Wolves football games for more than 50 years.

Buffington-Taylor was a four-year basketball starter who averaged 19 points and 13 rebounds during her career, which included leading Gwinnett County in scoring and rebounding her final two seasons. She was the Gwinnett player of the year and Miss Georgia Basketball as a senior before earning a basketball scholarship to Truett-McConnell College.

She still lives in the Buford area and has two children and two grandchildren.

This year’s inductees join a group that already includes Phillip Beard, Bryce Cantrell, Dwayne Cash, Tom Riden, Tyrone Sorrells, Mary Alice Beard, Ed Cochran, Tracy Cohron, Cecil Miller, Julie Harrison, Dudge Pruitt, Edwin Whidby, Dennis Clark, H. Carson Smith, Deano Kilgore, Harold “Pluto” Bagwell, Chuck Burge, Michael “Pop” Carson, Max Samples, Christi Thomas, Charles Harrison, P.K. Sam, Ray Coggins, Deanna Earl, Bob Parris and Brett Richards.