Lillian Webb named Gwinnett Chamber Citizen of the Year

Lillian Webb

Lillian Webb

A Gwinnett political pioneer will be honored as Citizen of the Year by the Gwinnett Chamber of Commerce.

Lillian Webb, the first woman and first Republican to become the county commission chairwoman, who also served 11 terms as Norcross mayor, will be honored by the business organization at its annual black-tie dinner in February, leaders announced.

The event, scheduled for Friday, Feb. 7, 2014, is expected to bring more than 1,000 of Gwinnett’s leaders together for a celebration of those who contribute to the local quality of life.

Those to be honored with Public Service Awards include: Duluth Councilwoman Marsha Anderson Bomar of Stantec, Gwinnett County Public Schools Associate Superintendent Francis Davis, Lawrenceville Mayor Judy Jordan Johnson, former Atlanta Falcon Chuck Smith and Sidney Theus of American Painting and Renovations.

The D. Scott Hudgens Humanitarian Award will go to Gwinnett Clean and Beautiful, and the R. Wayne Shackelford Legacy Award will go to C. Earle Snell of E.R. Snell Contractor, Inc.