Gwinnett's Brandt receives ECHL community service award

PRINCETON, N.J. --The ECHL on Friday announced that the Gwinnett Gladiators' Andy Brandt has been selected as the recipient of the 2012-13 ECHL Community Service Award.

Each ECHL team was given the opportunity to nominate a player for their efforts in community and charitable causes during the 2012-13 season. The nominations were voted on by League Office personnel.

Beginning last season, after the Gladiators' Teddy Bear Toss delivery to Children's Healthcare of Atlanta, Brandt spearheaded an initiative to keep the Gladiators involved at the hospital through volunteer work by organizing ongoing player visits each month. Brandt and other members of the organization assist with the hospital's weekly bingo each Thursday night.

Brandt is also active in the local Atlanta Youth Hockey scene as the youth hockey coordinator at the Cooler in Alpharetta. Following Gladiators' practice, he can be found at the Cooler helping to coordinate, organize and set-up the youth hockey practices and activities for the youth hockey program.

He also spearheaded the Gladiators' Movember crusade to spread the word concerning men's cancer awareness. Brandt helped the Gladiators institute the campaign and participated in promotional activities to further prevention and awareness to the cause.

Brandt has also been the Gladiators' leading voice for environmental preservation. His efforts have helped to minimize waste and energy with the club's hockey operations.

The other nominees for the 2012-13 ECHL Community Service Award were: Jacob Lagace (Bakersfield), Dan Eves (Cincinnati), Michael Forney (Colorado), Jordan Pietrus (Elmira), Jason Dale (Evansville), Charlie Effinger (Fort Wayne), Scott Todd (Idaho), Adrian Van de Mosselaer (Ontario), Mike Liambas (Orlando), Ethan Cox (Reading), Simon Danis-Pepin (San Francisco), Scooter Vaughan(South Carolina), Matt Bergland (Stockton), Joey Martin (Toledo), Brad Mills (Utah) and Peter Lenes (Wheeling).