Traveling school board sessions begin

LAWRENCEVILLE -- School board members want to make sure nothing gets lost in translation as they talk to residents during annual meetings this spring.

Interpreters will be on hand for each of the board meetings, scheduled across Gwinnett beginning Tuesday to allow board members to share information about the school district.

According to a press release, the program includes an address from Superintendent J. Alvin Wilbanks focusing on the district's strategic direction, recent successes and new initiatives and current budget challenges.

Hosted by District 3 Board member Mary Kay Murphy, the first session is scheduled for 7 p.m. Tuesday at Peachtree Ridge High. The district includes: Berkeley Lake Elementary, Buice School, Burnette Elementary, Chattahoochee Elementary, Duluth High, Duluth Middle, Harris Elementary, Hull Middle. Jackson Elementary, Lanier Middle, Level Creek Elementary, Mason Elementary, McKendree Elementary, Monarch School, New Life Academy of Excellence -- Duluth, Norcross High, North Gwinnett High, North Gwinnett Middle, Parsons Elementary, Peachtree Elementary, Peachtree Ridge High, Pinckneyville Middle, Riverside Elementary, Simpson Elementary, Sycamore Elementary and White Oak Elementary. Interpreters will be available in Cantonese Chinese, Mandarin Chinese, Korean, Spanish and Vietnamese.

At 7 p.m. Thursday, a second session is slated at Mill Creek High for District 2 residents. Represented by Daniel Seckinger, District 2 includes: Alford Elementary, Benefield Elementary, Central Gwinnett High, Collins Hill High, Creekland Middle, Duncan Creek Elementary, GIVE Center East, Harmony Elementary, Ivy Creek Elementary, Jenkins Elementary, Jones Middle, Lanier High, Mill Creek High, Moore Middle, Mountain View High, Osborne Middle, Patrick Elementary, Phoenix High, Puckett's Mill Elementary, Roberts Elementary, Rock Springs Elementary, Simonton Elementary, Sugar Hill Elementary, Suwanee Elementary, Taylor Elementary, Twin Rivers Middle, Walnut Grove Elementary and Woodward Mill Elementary. Interpretation will be available in Bosnian, Korean, Spanish and Vietnamese.

The sessions will continue the following week, with a 7 p.m. meeting April 2 at Parkview High. Represented by Robert McClure, the district includes: Anderson-Livsey Elementary, Annistown Elementary, Arcado Elementary, Berkmar High, Berkmar Middle, Britt Elementary, Brookwood Elementary, Brookwood High, Camp Creek Elementary, Centerville Elementary, Craig Elementary, Five Forks Middle, Gwin Oaks Elementary, Head Elementary, Knight Elementary, Lilburn Elementary, Lilburn Middle, Mountain Park Elementary, Nesbit Elementary, Parkview High, Partee Elementary, Pharr Elementary, Shiloh Elementary, Shiloh High, Shiloh Middle, Snellville Middle, South Gwinnett High and Trickum Middle. Interpretation will be available in Korean, Spanish and Vietnamese.

On April 4, a 7 p.m. meeting hosted by District 1's Carole Boyce will be held at Archer High. That district includes: Archer High, Bay Creek Middle, Cedar Hill Elementary, Cooper Elementary, Couch Middle, Crews Middle, Dacula Elementary, Dacula High, Dacula Middle, Dyer Elementary, Fort Daniel Elementary, Freeman's Mill Elementary, Grace Snell Middle, Grayson Elementary, Grayson High, Harbins Elementary, Hooper Renwick School, Lawrenceville Elementary, Lovin Elementary, Magill Elementary, McConnell Middle, Mulberry Elementary, Norton Elementary, Oakland Meadow School, Richards Middle, Rosebud Elementary, Starling Elementary, Trip Elementary and Winn Holt Elementary. Interpretation will be available in Korean, Spanish and Vietnamese.

A final area board meeting will be hosted by District 5's Louise Radloff at 7 p.m. April 16 at Meadowcreek High. Radloff's district includes Beaver Ridge Elementary, Bethesda Elementary, Chesney Elementary, Corley Elementary, Ferguson Elementary, GIVE Center West, Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology, Gwinnett County Online Campus, Hopkins Elementary, Kanoheda Elementary, Maxwell High School of Technology, Meadowcreek Elementary, Meadowcreek High, Minor Elementary, New Life Academy of Excellence -- Norcross, Norcross Elementary, Radloff Middle, Rockbridge Elementary, Stripling Elementary, Summerour Middle and Sweetwater Middle. Interpretation will be available in Cantonese Chinese, Mandarin Chinese, Korean, Spanish and Vietnamese.

While the meetings are organized by the schools in each board member's districts, the public may attend any of the sessions, which will be in the host school's theater. Refreshments will be served at 6:30 p.m.