Archer takes top honors from Gwinnett Takedown Club

Archer's Ernest Alexander was named Wrester of the Year by the Gwinnett County Takedown Club, which was one of three major awards received by the Tigers. Archer, which won the dual and traditional state titles, was honored as the team of the year and head coach Tom Beuglas was recognized as Coach of the Year. Grayson coach Steve West was selected as Assistant Coach of the Year.

Wesleyan's Rhett Delk won the Matt Peddicord Award, which goes to the wrestler for overcoming adversity to achieve success. Delk missed the first half of the season with an injury and came back to win the Class AA state championship.

Don Hart received the Randy Bortles Award for continued success and development as a fair and impartial referee. Longtime wrestling supporter and Mountain View assistant Randy Bortles received the Walt Hennebaul Man of the Year honor.

The Takedown Club also announced its all-county team:

First team

106 pounds: Darius Bunch, Buford, Soph.

113: Sean Russell, Collins Hill, Jr.

120: Ryan Millhof, Collins Hill, Jr.

126: Brayden Hartley, Buford, Jr.

132: Chris Diaz, Archer, Fr.

138: Daniel Bullard, Archer, Fr.

145: Thomas Bullard, Archer, Fr.

152: Zach Wright, Archer, Sr.

160: Khalil Shakur, Parkview, Sr.

170: Rhett Delk, Wesleyan, Sr.

182: Chip Ness, Buford, Jr.

195: Ernest Alexander, Archer, Sr.

220: Hunter McCleskey, Archer, Sr.

285: M.J. Couzan, Archer, Jr.

Second team

106: Cody Russell, Collins Hill, Fr.

113: Jack Barber, Buford, Fr.

120: Sam Bullard, Archer, Soph.

126: Grant Aycox, Archer, Soph.

132: Wyatt Jozwowski, Brookwood, Jr.

138: Rudy Gullien, Norcross, Soph.

145: Leivon Lewis, Central Gwinnett, Jr.

152: Sterling Pyles, Mountain View, Sr.

160: Anthony Codella, Collins Hill, Sr.

170: Elliot Lee, Archer, Soph.

182: Timi Akinniranye, North Gwinnett, Sr.

195: Harrison Schmid, Parkview, Sr.

220: Jalen Brooks, North Gwinnett, Sr.

285: Chauncy West, Lanier, Sr.

Honorable mention

106: Adam Flatt, Mountain View, Soph.

106: Hunter Hemmings, GAC, Soph.

113: Daquan Olbert, Archer, Sr.

113: Brandon Bradley, GAC, Sr.

120: Kyle Politz, GAC, Soph.

126: Andrew Webb, Parkview, Soph.

126: Hunter Franklin, North Gwinnett, Jr.

126: Tony Torres, Mountain View

132: Rene Deluna, Meadowcreek, Sr.

132: Carter Clinebell, GAC, Jr.

138: Marcos Rosenkjer, Mill Creek, Jr.

138: Trent Scates, GAC, Sr.

145: Karar Alasady, Peachtree Ridge, Sr.

145: Michael Roquet, Collins Hill, Jr.

152: Jimmy Gall, Collins Hill, Sr.

160: Orlando Nawade, Archer, Sr.

182: Ryan Moore, Meadowcreek, Jr.

195: Dima Aguero, Buford

220: Brett Byerly, North Gwinnett, Sr.

285: Bobby Klemm, Mill Creek, Soph.

Scholar athletes

Sam Bullard, Archer

Oscar Chavarria, Berkmar

Ezekiel Johnston, Brookwood

Eric Lisiakowski, Buford

Jose Fanfan, Central Gwinnett

Michael Roquet, Collins Hill

Nathaniel Hinton, Dacula

Dieo Ngo, Duluth

Carter Clinebell, GAC

Richard Pryor, Grayson

Edy Lee, Lanier

William Bailey, Meadowcreek

Andrew Klemm, Mill Creek

Tim Lee, Mountain View

Charles Cook, Norcross

Hunter Franklin, North Gwinnett

Andrew Webb, Parkview

Murtaza Bambot, Peachtree Ridge

Adan Velasquez, Shiloh

Rhett Delk, Wesleyan