2012-13 Gwinnett Daily Post All-County Basketball

2012-13 Gwinnett Daily Post All-County Basketball


Player of the Year: Brandon Goodwin, Sr., Norcross

The 6-foot guard averaged 15.5 points, 6.3 rebounds, 5.3 assists and 1.8 steals per game in helping the Blue Devils to their second state championship in the last three seasons. He will soon chose to play college basketball at either Auburn, Central Florida, Houston, Western Kentucky or Ole Miss

Coach of the Year: Jesse McMillan, Norcross

McMillan juggled an ever-changing line-up due caused late entries from Norcross' football state championship and injuries and guided the Blue Devils to a season-ending, 17-game winning streak, culminating in the Blue Devils' fifth state title in the last eight seasons

First Team

Nate Mason, Jr., Shiloh

18.6 ppg, 5.3 apg, 1.3 spg

Devin Mitchell, Jr., Collins Hill

20.2 ppg, 5.1 rpg, 3.3 apg

Trevon Shaw, Sr., Mill Creek

18.5 ppg, 5.7 rpg, 1.5 apg

Randall Smith, Sr., Archer

15.7 ppg, 5.2 apg

Isaiah Wilkins, Jr., GAC

16.2 ppg, 11.1 rpg, 2.7 apg, 4.9 bpg

Second Team

Jordan Capps, Sr., Peachtree Ridge

Kyle Doyle, Sr., Buford

Bryan Hamlet, Sr., Archer

Trayvon Reed, Jr., Shiloh

Collin Swinton, Sr., GAC

Third Team

A.J. Davis, Sr., Buford

Tobias Howard, Soph., North Gwinnett

Darius Joell, Sr., Collins Hill

Jaylen Williams, Sr., Dacula

Amir Warnock, Jr., Peachtree Ridge


Player of the Year: Diamond DeShields, Sr., Norcross

The 6-foot-2 senior ended an All-American career with a season that earned her the year Naismith National Player of the Year honors as she helped lead the Blue Devils to their third state championship in the last three seasons. The North Carolina-bound wing averaged 23.3 points, 6.9 rebounds, 3.1 assists, 3.7 steals and 0.8 blocked shots per game, and finished as Gwinnett County's No. 3 all-time leading scorer with 2, 324 career points

Coach of the Year: Angie Hembree, Norcross

The coaching veteran led the Blue Devils through a tough national non-region schedule, plus a rugged Region 7-AAAAAA slate that included a North Gwinnett team that was nationally-ranked most of the season, to the Class AAAAAA state championship. It is her sixth state title as a coach, the third at Norcross

First Team

Lexie Brown, Sr., North Gwinnett

18.4 ppg, 4.9 rpg, 6.9 apg, 5.1 spg

Shayla Cooper, Sr., Norcross

17.3 ppg, 6.1 rpg, 2.7 spg, 0.5 bpg

Brianna Cummings, Jr., GAC

18.5 ppg, 9.0 rpg, 1.8 apg, 3.5 spg, 2.2 bpg

Katie Frerking, Sr., Wesleyan

20.4 ppg, 5.5 rpg, 2.8 apg, 3.3 spg, .541 FG, .311 3-pt. FG, .719 FT

Peyton Whitted, Sr., North Gwinnett

13.7 ppg, 5.7 rpg, 1.9 apg, 1.4 spg

Second Team

Kristina Nelson, Sr., Buford

Madison Newby, Soph., Archer

Genesis Perrymond, Jr., Parkview

Katie Powell, Jr., Duluth

Brittany Stevens, Sr., Wesleyan

Third Team

Alexandra Frazier, Soph., Central Gwinnett

Courtney Gardner, Sr., Brookwood

Marissa Mandeldove, Sr., Parkview

Sydney Means, Jr., GAC

Nadiya Miller, Sr., Mill Creek