Governor commends Master Teachers

ATLANTA -- Gov. Nathan Deal announced Tuesday the names of 58 Georgia teachers who have earned the Master Teacher certification, a designation awarded based on demonstrated excellence in student achievement and student growth for 2013.

Of those chosen, 13 hail from Gwinnett County Public Schools.

"I am proud of Georgia's Master Teachers for their tireless efforts to enrich the minds and lives of our students and for their ongoing work toward reaching our state's goal of providing a high-quality teacher in every classroom," Deal said. "Georgia continues to make tremendous strides in improving educational opportunities for our students, and I am unwavering in my support of the critical link between effective teachers and student achievement."

Georgia's Master Teacher Certification Program was established in 2005 and is coordinated by the Georgia Professional Standards Commission. Based on classroom performance on the Criterion-Referenced Competency Test, documentation of student growth and exemplary professional practices, superior educators are designated as Master Teachers for a period of seven years.

"The 2013 Master Teachers joint a group of Georgia's highly skilled and dedicated educators who share a passion for teaching and student learning," said Kelly Henson, executive secretary for the PSC. "The Professional Standards Commission, along with their schools and communities, recognize and celebrate their accomplishments."

Master Teachers are eligible to automatically renew their teaching certificates as long as they continue to qualify for the status.

Gwinnett County's 2013 Master Teachers are:

-- Linda King, Duluth Middle

-- Sherry Bradford, Berkmar Middle

-- Sally Burkett, Twin Rivers Middle

-- Shuanita Cochran, Hull Middle

-- Jodi Harrison, North Gwinnett Middle

-- Catherine Huynh, Benefield Elementary

-- Michael Kelly, Snellville Middle

-- Charles Lockert, Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science and Technology

-- Lissette McRea, Berkmar Middle

-- Michele Meddin, North Gwinnett Middle

-- Janet Rasch, Berkmar Middle

-- Misty Watkins, Minor Elementary

-- Richard Whatley, Radloff MiddleSince the state's Master Teacher certification program began, more than 90 Gwinnett educators have earned the designation.