Media tabs Bulldogs as SEC East favorites

HOOVER, Ala. — Reigning national champion Alabama is still the media's favorite to win this year's Southeastern Conference football championship, while Georgia got the vote from this week's SEC Media Days as the favorite to face the Crimson Tide in the SEC title game.

The Bulldogs were selected as the preseason pick for SEC East champions when voting was released Thursday morning by the league office. An all-time high of 1,239 media members attended the media event, while 243 voted in the preseason poll and chose preseason All-SEC teams.

UGA got 149 first-place votes in the East, while South Carolina was second with 75 first-place votes. Florida, the only other East team to receive first-place votes in the division, got 19.

Alabama was the overwhelming favorite in the SEC West with 225 first-place votes to Texas A&M's 11 and LSU's seven.

The Crimson Tide also was the preseason pick for SEC champion with 182 votes. UGA was second with 38, followed by South Carolina (18), Texas A&M (4) and LSU (1).

The media's preseason All-SEC team was led by the top two vote-getters, both defensive players — C.J. Mosley of Alabama and Jadeveon Clowney of South Carolina.

UGA had two players on the All-SEC first team, running back Todd Gurley and tight end Arthur Lynch.

The complete results of media voting are as follows:


(* - Ties)


First Team

QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M (119)

RB T.J. Yeldon, Alabama (221)

RB Todd Gurley, Georgia (206)

WR Amari Cooper, Alabama (194)

WR Jordan Matthews, Vanderbilt (106)

TE Arthur Lynch, Georgia (148)

OL Cyrus Kouandjio, Alabama (193)

OL Jake Matthews, Texas A&M (176)

OL Anthony Steen, Alabama (109)

OL Gabe Jackson, Mississippi State (88)

C Travis Swanson, Arkansas (92)

Second Team

QB A.J. McCarron, Alabama (67)

RB Tre Mason, Auburn (15)

RB *LaDarius Perkins, Mississippi State (12)

RB *Keith Marshall, Georgia (12)

WR Donte Moncrief, Ole Miss ( 46)

WR Mike Evans, Texas A&M (33)

TE Rory Anderson, South Carolina (33)

OL Antonio Richardson, Tennessee (76)

OL Jon Halapio, Florida (51)

OL Chris Burnette, Georgia (50)

OL Ja'Wuan James, Tennessee (50)

C Reese Dismukes, Auburn (33)

Third Team

QB Aaron Murray, Georgia (52)

RB *Matt Jones, Florida (5)

RB *Jeff Scott, Ole Miss (5)

RB *Alfred Blue, LSU (5)

WR Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia (28)

WR Jarvis Landry, LSU (19)

TE Brian Vogler, Alabama (18)

OL La'el Collins, LSU (37)

OL Josh Williford, LSU (30)

OL Wesley Johnson, Vanderbilt (18)

OL *A.J. Cann, South Carollina (14)

OL *Zach Fulton, Tennessee (14)

C *James Stone, Tennessee (30)

C *Jonotthan Harrison, Florida (30)


First Team

DL Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina (223)

DL Dominique Easley, Florida (162)

DL Anthony Johnson, LSU (127)

DL Chris Smith, Arkansas (56)

LB C.J. Mosley, Alabama (231)

LB A.J. Johnson, Tennessee (107)

LB Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss (94)

DB Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama (203)

DB Craig Loston, LSU (135)

DB Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida (117)

DB Deion Belue, Alabama (77)

Second Team

DL Xzavier Dickson, Alabama (49)

DL Ed Stinson, Alabama (39)

DL Dee Ford, Auburn (38)

DL Jeoffrey Pagan, Alabama (31)

LB Adrian Hubbard, Alabama (66)

LB Jordan Jenkins, Georgia (64)

LB Lamin Barrow, LSU (29)

DB Damian Swann, Georgia (70)

DB Andre Hal, Vanderbilt (69)

DB Marcus Roberson, Florida (50)

DB Vinnie Sunseri, Alabama (36)

Third Team

DL Garrison Smith, Georgia (26)

DL Daniel McCullers, Tennessee (23)

DL Alvin Dupree, Kentucky (23)

DL C.J. Johnson, Ole Miss (22)

LB Ronald Powell, Florida (24)

LB Tahj Jones, LSU (20)

LB *Trey DePriest, Alabama (16)

LB *Avery Williamson, Kentucky (16)

DB E.J. Gaines, Missouri (34)

DB Charles Sawyer, Ole Miss (25)

DB Jalen Mills, LSU (22)

DB Chris Davis , Auburn (20)


First Team

P Kyle Christy, Florida (108)

PK Carey Spear, Vanderbilt (100)

RS Odell Beckham Jr., LSU (74)

AP Bruce Ellington, South Carolina (69)

Second Team

P Cody Mandell, Alabama (54)

PK Cody Parkey, Auburn (71)

RS Bruce Ellington, South Carolina (62)

AP Odell Beckham Jr., LSU (44)

Third Team

P Steven Clark, Auburn (33)

PK Zach Hocker, Arkansas (39)

RS Andre Debose, Florida (53)

AP Loucheiz Purifoy, Florida (36)



Alabama, 182

Georgia, 38

South Carolina, 18

Texas A&M, 4

LSU, 1


Georgia (149) 1570

South Carolina (75) 1474

Florida (19) 1300

Vanderbilt 858

Tennessee 694

Missouri 577

Kentucky 331


Alabama (225) 1681

Texas A&M (11) 1333

LSU (7) 1324

Ole Miss 883

Auburn 579

Mississippi State 516

Arkansas 488