Shiloh's Mason, Archer's Newby lead all-region hoops honors

A pair of point guards, Shiloh's Nate Mason and Archer's Madison Newby, were voted the Region 8-AAAAAA players of the year by the league's head basketball coaches.

Brookwood's Daniel Bowles, who led his team to a turnaround season, was selected boys coach of the year and Parkview's Tony Watkins, whose Panther girls had an undefeated season and won the region title, was named girls coach of the year.

The coaches also voted on all-region teams. Those selections are as follows:


First teamRandall Smith, Archer

Tim Rowe, Berkmar

Bryan Hamlet, Archer

Trayvon Reed, Shiloh

Jaylen Williams, DaculaSecond teamLogan Adams, South Gwinnett

Shaun Jones, Central Gwinnett

C.J. Foster, Berkmar

Marquise Lanier, Grayson

Brandon Goodson, DaculaHonorable mentionDeion Dedeaux, Brookwood

T.J. Thomas, Parkview

Kendall Joseph, Brookwood

Brian Egejuru, Central Gwinnett

Kevon Tucker, DaculaGirls

First teamMadison Newby, Archer

Courtney Gardner, Brookwood

Marissa Mandeldove, Parkview

Alexandra Frazier, Central Gwinnett

Genesis Perrymond, ParkviewSecond teamDaijah Cooke, Berkmar

Vicki Harris, Parkview

Faustine Aifuwa, Dacula

Colette Onenda, South Gwinnett

Rebecca Walker, Brookwood

Kayla Rogers, Archer

Arielle Harvey, South GwinnettHonorable mentionMia Marshall, Parkview

Alesha Mann, Archer

Carol Reynolds, Central Gwinnett

Bria Ratliff, Shiloh