Norman, Houston, Andrews among top UGA football award-winners

A pair of Gwinnett grads took home two of the top awards at the University of Georgia football team’s annual gala last weekend at the Classic Center in Athens.

Peachtree Ridge grad Connor Norman, a senior safety, shared most valuable special teams player honors with junior linebacker Kosta Vavlas. He also was selected as the permanent special teams captain for the 2013 team and was one of six picks for the Coaches Leadership Award, an honor she shared with junior center David Andrews, a Wesleyan grad. Andrews also received the Frank Sinkwich Toughness Award.

Buford’s Kolton Houston, a junior offensive tackle, received the David Jacobs Award as the player who, by example, portrayed courage, spirit, character and determination.

Senior quarterback Aaron Murray was given the team’s Vince Dooley Most Valuable Player Award and also was the most valuable player on offense, as well as being voted the Bullodgs’ overall permanent team captain for 2013. Defensive end Garrison Smith was named the permanent defensive captain and tight end Arthur Lynch was selected as offensive captain. Amarlo Herrera was the defensive MVP.