Gwinnett puts 18 players on GACA all-state softball teams

Brookwood’s Amanda Ablan, along with Buford’s Morgan Walters and Bria Bush, earned top individual awards on the Georgia Athletic Coaches Association All-State Softball Teams.

A total of 18 Gwinnett players earned all-state honors, with Ablan and the Buford duo earning special acclaim.

Ablan was named the Class AAAAAA pitcher of the year after going 21-6 with a 1.24 ERA and 265 strikeouts in 191 1/3 innings for the Broncos.

Walters was the AAA player of the year and Bush was the pitcher of the year in that classification after they helped Buford to its seventh straight state championship this season. Walters hit .485, with 17 home runs, 60 RBIs, 50 runs scored, seven doubles, 11 stolen bases and 25 walks, while Bush was 18-1 with a save, a 0.61 ERA and 109 strikeouts in 103 2/3 innings.

Gwinnett also had two state coach of the year award-winners from state championship teams — Tony Wolfe of Buford and Paul Pierce of Collins Hill.

In addition to Ablan, Gwinnett had 10 all-state selections in AAAAAA, half of those from Collins Hill. The Eagles’ all-state players were Amanda Chance, Laine Simmons, Jaimie Hoover, Brea Dickey and Aeshia Miles.

Archer’s Jenna Graham and Alesha Mann, Mill Creek’s Morgan Bell, Grayson’s Stephanie Snyder and North Gwinnett’s Kinsley Jennings also made AAAAAA all-state.

In AAA, Bush and Walters were joined on the all-state list by Buford teammates Tessa Daniels, Jordan Deep, Niki Cook and Remington Hasty.

Wesleyan’s Landyn Duley made the all-state team in AA.