Storm's Tuttle, Lions' Mills get top running honors

Providence Christian’s Tayler Tuttle and Peachtree Ridge’s Kevin Mills were selected the runners of the year by the Gwinnett County cross country coaches on Tuesday at Greater Atlanta Christian.

Tuttle was the Class A private state runner-up, while Mills won the Class AAAAAA state championship.

Wesleyan’s Chad McDaniel and Peachtree Ridge’s Ron Clanton were selected as girls coaches of the year. McDaniel led the Wolves to the Class AA state title, while Clanton guided the Lions to the Class AAAAAA championship. Brookwood’s Ben Dehnke was named boys coach of the year after leading the Broncos to the Class AAAAAA title, the fourth in five years.

Three people were also inducted into the Gwinnett County cross country and track and field hall of fame.

Former Parkview coach Hal Barnes, who coached in the 1970s and ’80s and led the Panthers to numerous county, region and state titles, was honored.

In addition, 2007 Collins Hill grad Jackie Drouin, a five-time Gwinnett runner of the year and nine-time state champion, was honored.

Adam Ruiz, a 1987 Parkview grad, who won an individual state title and was a member of two state championship teams, was also put in the hall of fame.

The following athletes have earned all-county status by placing in the top 10 at the county meet or by being selected by a committee of coaches based on their season performance.


Tayler Tuttle, Providence Christian

Addison Lippitt, Peachtree Ridge

Lauren Hovis, Mill Creek

Lauren Brennan, Brookwood

Caroline Reed, Wesleyan

Laurel Sumner, Brookwood

Laurel Wilson, Peachtree Ridge

Hannah Lopez, Mill Creek

Emily Swanigan, Providence Christian

Courtney Czerniak, North Gwinnett

Mariah Maring, Collins Hill

Caroline Williams, Peachtree Ridge

Yanely Gomez, Grayson

Meghan Peel, Peachtree Ridge

Leonora Luce, Collins Hill

Nina Thomason, Brookwood

Julie Wang, Parkview

Hayley Spears, Peachtree Ridge

Jordan Zimmerman, Wesleyan

Mackenzie Ellison, Brookwood


Kevin Mills, Peachtree Ridge

Tyler Woodrome, Mill Creek

Bryan Kamau, Shiloh

Daniel Ellis, Collins Hill

Miles Yapp, Brookwood

Nahom Solomon, Shiloh

Isaac Penman, Peachtree Ridge

Nic Schofer, Parkview

Chris O’Brien, Brookwood

Evan Beck, Peachtree Ridge

Josh Ingalls, Brookwood

Eric Westog, Mill Creek

Sam Costa, Mill Creek

Ryan Massey, Brookwood

Will Freeman, Parkview

Tyler Allan, Collins Hill

Fernando Cruz, Collins Hill

Andrew Klassen, Parkview

Garrett Adams, Brookwood

Zach Stephens, Collins Hill

Honorable mention

Bradley Blaho, Archer

McKenzie Knudsen, Archer

Mickey Feyisa, Berkmar

Mary Dang, Berkmar

Tommy Templeman, Brookwood

Lauren Flynt, Brookwood

Aaron Martin, Central Gwinnett

Lindsay Lee, Central Gwinnet

Kitty Moraes, Collins Hill

Jeremy Page, Collins Hill

Kenedi Rodney, Dacula

Caleb Daymude, Dacula

David Pitts, Duluth

Madison Whitley, Duluth

Colson Hagan, Hebron

Samantha Heflin, Hebron

Miller Kettle, GAC

Caitlin Galvin, GAC

Ally Patterson, Grayson

Parker Davis, Grayson

Chris Tromp, Lanier

Nicole Townley, Lanier

Cowander Carter, Meadowcreek

Tumisoh Tidimane, Meadowcreek

Brian Horst, Mill Creek

Sara Scales, Mill Creek

Robert Bevins, Mountain View

Rebecca Winslow, Mountain View

Gabrielle Gusmerotti, Norcross

Steven Chevrier, Norcross

Jeramey Hampton, North Gwinnett

Caroline Shimkus, North Gwinnett

Jackson Wise, Parkview

Jamie Freeman, Parkview

Nate Reichard, Peachtree Ridge

Michelle Valezquez, Peachtree Ridge

Sammy Clough, Providence

Anna Huntington, Providence

Ryan Vina, Shiloh

Maja Besic, Shiloh

Julie Fields, South Gwinnett

Ellie Bradach, Wesleyan

Henry Collins, Wesleyan