Qualifying set, Sugar Hill to get new mayor

SUGAR HILL — Steve Edwards will take over as mayor of Sugar Hill, one of two new mayors set during this week’s qualifying period.

“I’ve got some big shoes to fill,” said Edwards, who was the sole qualifier who put his name in to replace Gary Pirkle, who was mayor the past 12 years. “(Pirkle) took it from a city barely making payroll and there was a movement afoot to take away the city charter. … He turned it around.”

With candidates putting their names in for office this week, ballots were set for local cities (save the addition of write-in candidates).

In addition to Edwards, Allison Wilkerson is practically mayor-elect of Grayson, as the sole qualifier for the job, vacated by Jim Hinkle.

With incumbent mayors Bucky Johnson of Norcross and Bill Orr of Braselton, the only city set for a mayoral race is Loganville, where Dan Curry, who won an uncontested special election earlier this year, was challenged by Jerry Price.

Council contests are set for Auburn, Berkeley Lake, Duluth, Grayson, Lawrenceville, Loganville, Norcross and Snellville.


Council (top two vote-getters)

William B. Ackworth

Atkeson Harold Money

Robert L. Vogel III (i)

Jay Riemenschneider

Donna L. Scouten (i)

Berkeley Lake

Rodney Hammond

Pekka Ignatius

Scott Lee (I)

Chip McDaniel

Jeff Morgan


Mayor Bill Orr (i)

Council Post 2 Peggy Slappey (i)

Council Post 4 Rhoda K Stites



Chris Burge (i)

Michael Smith (i)

School board

Pat Pirkle (i)

Bruce Fricks (i)


Mayor Jimmy Wilbanks (i)

Wendell Holcombe (i)

Greg Reeves (i)


Post 1

Marsha Anderson Bomar (i)

David Cossette

Chaohan Louis Tseng

Post 2

Kirkland Carden

Jim Dugan (i)

Seth D. Grey

Post 3

Billy Jones (i)


Mayor Allison Wilkerson

Council Post

Linda S. Jenkins

Laura Gavulic

Council Post

Trenton Arnold


Council Post 2

Bob Clark (i)

Council Post 4

Larry Troutman

Keith Roche

Rory Johnson

Renita Hamilton



Tim Dunn (i)

Eddie Price (i)



Dan Curry (i)

Jerry Price


Chuck Bagley

Linda Dodd

Mark Kiddoo (i)

Rey Martinez (i)

Amanda Sosebe

Pedro Vega

Eileen Waring



Bucky Johnson (i)

Council Post

Craig Newton (i)

Council Post

Charlie Riehm (i)

Lillian Toole

Peachtree Corners

Council Post 2 Jay Lowe (i)

Council Post 4 Jeanne Aulbach (i)

Council Post 6 Weare Gratwick (i)


Council Post 3

Alisa Boykin

Tom Witts (i)

Council Post 4

Dexter Harrison

Bobby Howard (i)

Council Post 5

Barbara Bender

Mike Sabbagh (i)

Sugar Hill


Steve Edwards


Curtis Northrop (i)

Mike Sullivan (i)


Council Post Dan Foster (i)

Council Post Linnea Miller

Council Post Beth Hilscher (i)