National Merit Scholarship semifinalists named

SUWANEE -- More than 50 Gwinnett County Public Schools seniors have been named semifinalists in the 2013 National Merit Scholarship Program--a prestigious accolade honoring those with the highest marks and stellar leadership skills.

The National Merit Scholarship Corp., recently announced that the representatives from 11 local high schools are part of about 16,000 nationwide who will now compete for the official National Merit Scholar title and thousands of dollars in scholarships.

Students were chosen based on their college entrance exam scores. They are competing with other semifinalists from throughout the nation for about 8,300 scholarships worth more than $32 million. Scholarships will be awarded in the spring.

The 2013 Gwinnett National Merit semifinalists are:

-- Berkmar High: Adila Abdulwahid

-- Brookwood High: Alexis L. Brooks, Melanie R. Chandler, Ryan S. Nelson, Aaron C. Ragans,

Raymond G. Richardson, Jenny M. Truong and Yili Eric Yao

-- Collins Hill High: Manav Dutta, Eun J. Lee, Angela Mo, Giahoa T. Nguyen and Jennifer P.


-- Duluth High: John A. Kaffezakis and Jonathan R. Li

-- Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology: Eunji Ahn, Jason M. Bires, Sang A. Han, Diana Hernandez, Heather K. Huynh,

David J. Park, Sam E. Rakowski, Ashanti S. Turner and Hanfei Wang

-- Mill Creek High: Jeremy B. Hatcher, Yong R. Lee and Paige J. Orangio

-- Mountain View High: Rebecca E. Wilson

-- Norcross High: Allison M. Fisher, Emma C. Reidy, Geoffrey M. Sangston and Ashley L. Wang

-- North Gwinnett High: Alexander W. Cook, Elisabeth A. Finn, Abhishek K. Goswami, David Pitt,

Amanda G. Wall and Wendy Yang

-- Parkview High: Kelly P. Croteau, Larry He, Lisa Y. Liu, James M. May, Connor P. McDonald,

Julian M. Menzel, Alizain Merchant and Natalie R. Neuman

-- Peachtree Ridge High: Nathaniel B. Adams, Manisha Banga, Alice Y. Herchek, Hammad A. Khalid,

Sarah C. Kim and Katherine Li