Four Peachtree Corners races head to runoffs

PEACHTREE CORNERS — Voters will have to return to the polls in April to fill more than half of Peachtree Corners’ first City Council seats.

Phil Sadd and Jay Lowe won seats in Tuesday’s election. But candidates for four other positions were unable to obtain the majority needed to avoid a runoff.

“So far, so good,” said Mike Mason, who was unopposed to become the new city’s first mayor. “I thought (the vote) was going to be spread out like butter. ... It’s going to be a challenging month (until the runoff).”

Sadd brought home 529 votes — nearly 70 percent — in the city’s Post 1, besting Nneka Chukwu and Joe Sawyer. He did not return a phone call late Tuesday.

Lowe bested Stephen Peet for Post 2, by a vote of 1,397 to 1,273. He also was not available after the ballots were counted.

Mason, who brought in 5,169 votes in his unopposed election, said the large number of candidates in the other races made the choice difficult, especially since the field was broad and few were well-known outside their community circles.

“It’s heartening we had so much interest,” he said, adding that the United Peachtree Corners Civic Association is planning a forum to help people get to know the narrowed-down field. “I think getting it down to two (per race) will make all the difference.”

Unofficial results showed Alex Wright coming close to the majority in Post 3, but with 1,129 votes, or 46 percent, he will head to a runoff with David Proud, who holds a 696 to 601 edge above Scott Ehrlich.

For Post 4, Jeanne Aulbach brought in 2,423 votes, or 44 percent, and seems set to square off with Robert Byars in a runoff. He received 1,617 votes or 29 percent, compared to Robert Indech’s 571 votes and Gloria Gore Rucks’ 895.

In Post 5, the candidates were more evenly matched, with Lorri Christopher’s 2,068 votes coming out on top with nearly 37 percent. Gray Terry appears to be the second-place finisher with 1,945 votes or 35.1 percent, above Brent Johnson’s 1,496 votes or nearly 27 percent.

About halfway through the ballot counting, Post 6’s Weare Gratwick and Brian Stickney were neck and neck, but Gratwick later edged him out 2,268 to 1,939. The two will battle it out in the runoff. Their competitors, David Leader and Raymond Cobb, came in with 728 and 703 votes respectively.