Duluth selects 10 "Idol" winners

DULUTH -- During Duluth's No Reason Block Party on June 21, 10 performers walked away placing in the city's second Duluth Idol competition.

"The city does this just to find some talent -- untapped talent," said Duluth event coordinator Jayne Madigan. "This is a chance for the community to come out and support local singers."

This year's judges were Eddie Owen of the Red Clay Theatre, Sherry Ingbritsen of New Dawn Theater and Paula Shear, Duluth resident and singer.

Scoring was based on talent, appearance, stage presence and overall performance as well as audience votes.

As a prize, each winner has a chance to sing at future Duluth events, beginning with the city's Fourth of July celebration on July 3 at Scott Hudgens Park.

Ages 8 to 11

  1. Nailah Pinchinet

  2. Julia Brosas

  3. Kasey Headrick

Ages 12 to 16

  1. Madi Turner

  2. Samantha Corley

  3. Abby Couvillon

Ages 17 and older

  1. Taylor Alexander

  2. Margaret Coy

  3. Lee Bailey and Jen Brosas (tie)