State names Title I distinguished schools

SUWANEE -- State Superintendent John Barge announced this week that of the 824 schools around Georgia being honored as Title I distinguished, 33 are located in Gwinnett County.

A Title I school earns the title of Distinguished School for making Adequate Yearly Progress under No Child Left Behind for three or more consecutive years.

Title I schools receive federal funds to better their students, which include a higher percentage of young people receiving free or reduced lunch.

Said Barge: "These schools are showing that high expectations, coupled with effective educators in the building, produce outstanding student achievement."

"With the academic bar increasing each year, it is not easy to continue making AYP," Barge said. "These schools have proven that it can be done even when there are challenges."

Steve Flynt, associate superintendent with Gwinnett County Public Schools, said it's an honor for teachers and students at each of the 33 schools.

"We are pleased that the Georgia Department of Education is recognizing a large number of Gwinnett schools," Flynt said. "Our teachers and administrators work very hard every day to make sure students are meeting the rising expectations. We are proud of their academic achievement despite the challenges."

Along with the Distinguished School title, Annistown and Kanoheda elementary schools got extra funding in recognition of eight years as Title I schools and 10 consecutive years of making AYP.

Other schools recognized include the following: Bethesda Elementary, Britt Elementary, Cedar Hill Elementary, Harris Elementary, Knight Elementary, Magill Elementary, Nesbit Elementary, Norcross Elementary, Norton Elementary, Partee Elementary, Shiloh Elementary, Alford Elementary, Corley Elementary, Meadowcreek Elementary, Minor Elementary, Rockbridge Elementary, Sycamore Elementary, Alcova Elementary, Beaver Ridge Elementary, Centerville Elementary, Chesney Elementary, Winn Holt Elementary, Simonton Elementary, Benefield Elementary, Lawrenceville Elementary, Stripling Elementary, Shiloh Middle, Lovin Elementary, Shiloh High, Rosebud Elementary and Richards Middle.