Georgia Dugout Club softball awards heavy with Gwinnett players

Gwinnett County fastpitch softball players and coaches factored heavily into the Georgia Dugout Club's top postseason honors, which will be awarded at a Saturday morning banquet in Atlanta.

Two Gwinnett players, Collins Hill's Kayla Floor and Mill Creek's Nikki Sagermann, were selected as Class AAAAA players of the year while the AA players of the year featured two Buford standouts -- Kallie Case and Lexi Overstreet. Wesleyan junior CaraMia Tsirigos was named player of the year in Class A.

Four local head coaches also were picked as coaches of the year -- Collins Hill's Paul Pierce and Mill Creek's Roger Parham in AAAAA, Buford's Tony Wolfe in AA and Wesleyan's Nichole Dixon in A. Brookwood's Angel Parks and Mill Creek's Frank Turner and Jennifer Maloney were selected as assistant coaches of the year.

Dacula head coach Tracy Keefer will be honored at the banquet for reaching 200 career victories this season. Archer's Kris Daniels, Wesleyan's Dixon and North Oconee's Billy Dooley (a Collins Hill grad) will be saluted for topping 100 career wins.