State champions Buford, Norcross lead GSWA All-State Teams

Norcross senior Alvin Kamara is one of the nation's top recruits and is ranked as the state's No. 1 running back by ESPN.com.

Norcross senior Alvin Kamara is one of the nation's top recruits and is ranked as the state's No. 1 running back by ESPN.com.

What was already a merry Christmas for members of Gwinnett County's two state championship high school football teams got even better when the Georgia Sports Writers Association's All-State team was released by the Associated Press on Tuesday.

Keith Maloof and six members of his state champion Norcross Blue Devils led Gwinnett's representation on the Class AAAAAA team, while Buford coach Jess Simpson and seven Wolves players were present on the Class AAA team.

In Class AAAAAA, Maloof was honored as the Coach of the Year from the state's largest classification after guiding Norcross to its first state title.

But it was his Blue Devils players that made the team — Class AAAAAA Offensive Player of the Year Alvin Kamara, fellow first-team selections Shon Akins, Myles Autry, Lorenzo Carter and Tommy Tate and honorable mention selection Joseph Ledford — that Maloof was happier for.

"It's a great honor for all those kids to be recognized for all the work they put in this season," said Maloof, who just completed his 17th season as a head coach and 14th at Norcross.

Meanwhile, Buford equally dominated Class AAA's all-state team, headed by Simpson being named as the classification's Coach of the Year after leading the Wolves to their fifth state title in the last six years and eighth in the last 11 seasons, while linebacker Korie Rogers was named as the classification's Defensive Player of the Year.

Joining them were Mikey Bart, Josh Cardiello and Thomas Wilson on the first team and Matt Bonadies, Deion King and Dontravious Wilson on the second team.

In all, 32 players from Gwinnett schools were honored on the GSWA and AP teams.

Other local players joining Norcross' contingent on the Class AAAAAA team were Central Gwinnett's Justin Brownlee and Trey Johnson, Grayson's Ryan Carter, Wayne Gallman and Robert Nkemdiche, Mill Creek's Jacorey Lewis and Kelsey Griffin, Brookwood's Ky Priester, Parkview's Bryce Lewis, South Gwinnett's Reggie Carter and Collins Hill's Mitchell Blanchard.

Two Lanier players — linebacker Izzy Sam and receiver Marty Sanders — were honored in Class AAAA.

Finally, Greater Atlanta Christian's Rafe Chapple, Kyle Scales, Peter Whiteneck and Ross Wood and Wesleyan's Will Anderson, Rhett Delk and Jahmai Jones were the local representatives in Class AA.

MOBILE USERS: Click here to view the complete list.