Barrow County election results


Winner: Joe Goodman

Results: Joe Goodman 65%, 750 votes

Jerry Lampp 35%, 396 votes

• “I’m excited to have this opportunity,” Goodman said. “I want to thank all the people who came out to vote. I look forward to the next few months working with the commission.”

Next Step: Goodman will take office in January.


Winner: Kenny Shook

Results: Kenny Shook 50%, 710 votes

William Brown 50%, 700 votes

• “It’s been a long road, but I am humbled and excited by this opportunity,” Shook said. “I look forward to serving the people of this county and this district.”

Next Step: Shook will take office in January.


Winner: Steve Worley

Results: Steve Worley 56%, 400 votes

Scott Vickery 44%, 314 votes

• “We had a good, clean campaign,” Worley said. “I’m going to take a couple weeks to rest up and we’ll get back to campaigning. I’m happy and appreciate those who voted.

Next Step: Worley will face Democrat Johnny C. Smith in November.

BOE District 8 (R)

Winner: Mitch Churchill

Results: Mitch Churchill 50%, 3,285 votes

Phil Thornton 50%, 3,258 votes

• It will be Churchill’s third term serving on the Barrow County Board of Education.

Next Step: Churchill will take office in January.

Chief Magistrate (R)

Winner: June Davis

Results: June Davis 73%, 4,790 votes

Monica Hunter Durden 27%, 1,801 votes

• “I would like to thank the people of Barrow County for their support and their confidence,” Davis said. “I’m overwhelmed by all the support. I will endeavor to continue to do my job the very best I can.”

Next Step: Davis will take office in January.