Peachtree Corners Council becomes official

The Peachtree Corners City Council became official Sunday, with a swearing in ceremony for the new city's first leaders.

With Mike Mason taking the role of mayor, the council's final pieces were set after a runoff election last week. The councilmembers are Phil Sadd, Jay Lowe, Alex Wright, Jeanne Aulbach, Lorri Christopher and Weare Gratwick.

The ceremony, sponsored by the United Peachtree Corners Civic Association, was held at the Hilton Atlanta Northeast's Hunnicutt Ballroom.

Last week, Mason said he was hoping for a quick swearing in so the council could begin meeting, setting local ordinances prior to the July 1 start date for the city.