Gwinnett has 100-plus Governor's Honors students

SUWANEE -- More than 100 juniors and seniors with Gwinnett County Public Schools will spend part of their summer vacation learning from some of the state's most qualified teachers.

Representing 14 of the district's high schools, 103 local students were picked for the 2012 Governor's Honors Program based on three weekends of interviews and auditions with the program's coordinators earlier in the school year.

Out of more than 2,900 students from across the state who were nominated, only 690 finalists were named in Georgia. Gwinnett County Public School students made up 15 percent of the chosen finalists.

Program Director Dale Lyles said that "even being nominated is an accomplishment. I congratulate the students of Gwinnett County Public Schools and look forward to meeting them and their parents in June."

Local finalists for 2012 include the following:

-- Adila Abdulwahid and Eden Hailemichael, both of Berkmar High

-- Naana Obeng-Marnu, Anthony Kelly-Taylor and Ryan Whitfield, all of Brookwood High

-- Mark Caskey Dyer, Central Gwinnett High

-- Shaen Deimling, Jacob "Jake" Inderrieden, Caroline Eagerton, Jessica Sturges, Allison Burg, Eli Carrasco, Liz Mairena, Jennifer Shaffer, Sydney Lewis and Ashley White, all of Collins Hill

-- Patrick Barrett and Rebecca Mertulien, both of Dacula

-- Maria Garcia, Evan Pax, Abraham Quintero, Abhirup Ramachandiran, Jason Yu, Huijeong Lee and Brian Vong, all of Duluth

-- Alex George, Dkeama Alexis and Asia Charles, all of Grayson

-- Kashish Gupta, Stephanie Moon, Troy Morrow, Morrison Nolan, Danish Singh, Sami Hakani, William "Willie" Jin, Ashwin John, Viral Shah, Felix Jovel, Sarina Juma, Sun Ho Kim, Melissa Kuester and Shannon Nguyen, all of Gwinnett School of Math, Science and Technology

-- Jeremy "Britt" Hatcher, Hyeonwoo "Eric" Shim, Lauren Beard, Caterina Kurz, Hannah Lopez, Bianca Melidor, Samuel Kim, Alexis Berry, Joshua Stephens, Adi Handach and Sang Lee, all of Mill Creek

-- Timothy "Tim" Lee, Yonas Takele and Hannah-Dulya Menelas, all of Mountain View

-- Geoffrey Sangston, Francisco Collantes, Allison Diamond, Alena Antonowich, Alexander Barron, Michael Sokolow, Christopher Willis, Brianna Stephens, Jessica Albert, Nhat Khanh Tran, Miller Moor and Maia Brookes, all of Norcross

-- Abhishek Goswami, Jeremy Cooley, Joshua O'Shields, Alexander Kario, An Nguyen, Angela Park, Elizabeth Hamilton, Phillip Jones, Anita Ingram, Jessica St. George and Alexander Teichner, all of North Gwinnett

-- Julian Menzel, Michael Yu, Aprotim "Cory" Bhowmik, Szuning Chiao, Yikan Ge, Hildana Haileyesus, Sean Mbogo, Cara Young, Lihua Shu, Rohan Mahadevia and Riley Weyher, all of Parkview

-- Katherine Li, Heley Ong, Nitant Dandekar, Manisha Banga, Catherine May, Sai Mupparaju, Kayuri Bhimani, Dasol Lee, Eamon Gragg, Arabia Bellinger, Micael Callaway and Joshua Hawkins, all of Peachtree Ridge.

For more information, visit the Georgia Department of Education at www.gadoe.org.


kevin 3 years, 2 months ago

"learning from some of the state's most qualified teachers" What is this, bonus day? How do you describe the other teachers in the system?


ssilover1 3 years, 2 months ago

Do you have a bad day every day?


Sign in to comment