Local students make national merit semifinals

More than 40 students from Gwinnett County Public Schools recently were named 2012 National Merit Scholarship Program semifinalists.

The National Merit Scholarship Corp., released the names of 46 GCPS high school seniors presented with the honor.

The group of students represent 12 high schools in the district.

Students were chosen for the process based on college entrance exam scores. They will compete with other semifinalists throughout the nation for about 8,300 National Merit scholarships worth more than $34 million. Scholarships will be rewarded to finalists next spring.

Students from Brookwood High included John Chamberlin, Zachary Freshley, Anna Hernick, Shushmita Hoque, Minhyuk Song, Matthew Townsend, Drew Vander Wood, Tony Zhang and Stephanie Zheng.

Central Gwinnett: Joseph Horenstein.

Collins Hill: Michael Aderhold, James Gadea, Matthew Hester, Kate Unsworth.

Duluth High: Tyler Reeves.

Grayson: Nana-Adjoa Kwarteng, Jacob Meadows.

Gwinnett School of Math, Science and Technology: Shawn Albert, Jessica Allison, Alyssa Napier, Na Eun Oh, Benjamin Pham, Yun Seo, Arsalan Sufi.

Mill Creek: Guillermo Bautista and Ronan O'Brien.

Mountain View: Claudette Bailey.

Norcross: Ryan Ward.

North Gwinnett: Seung Jae Choi, Rebecca Kim, Ho Lim Lee.

Parkview: Ross Cunningham, Tami Feng, Samuel Gowland, James Jordan, Jamie Morsberger, Amanda Nabors, Dakota Taggart, Caleb Younger.

Peachtree Ridge: Bria Fincher, Kathryn Fitton, Nina Gummadi, Ajay Harish, Sarah Paik, Tyler Perini, Jackson Winfrey.

For more information, visit www.nationalmerit.org.