Force re-sign eight for 2012



DULUTH --The Georgia Force announced the re-signing of eight players from the 2011 American Conference finalist team as the Arena Football League's unrestricted free agency period began Monday.

"These players were key components to our success during the 2011 season," said Force head coach Dean Cokinos, "And their signings give us a solid base to build on heading into 2012."

Among the key signings are receiver Larry Shipp, quarterback Darnell Kennedy, defensive back Robert Durham and defensive lineman Jeff Littlejohn.

Shipp led all Force receivers with 1,784 yards and 29 touchdowns on 124 receptions. Kennedy, meanwhile, took over the reins as starting quarterback in the regular season's final game and threw for 833 yards and 17 TDs on 63 of 100 passing.

Durham's 5.8 tackles per game led the Force defense and placed him in the AFL's top 10 and he also chipped in three interceptions, while Littlejohn added 17 tackles and added four sacks.

Also resigning with the Force are defensive lineman Louis Ellis, linebacker Caleb Bostic and offensive linemen Sean Allen and Ray Norell.