GCPS names local Teachers of the Year

SUWANEE — On Wednesday Gwinnett County Public Schools released a list of 129 educators named finalists for the 2012 Gwinnett County Teacher of the Year. The 129 are teachers of the year at their respective schools.

Selection of the systemwide finalists is the first step in the system’s official search for the overall teacher of the year, which will be announced in November.

Prior to that, the search will be narrowed from 129 to a list of 25 semifinalists in October.

The school system annually honors teachers who colleagues nominate for the honor.

Nikki Mouton, executive director of staff development, said it is “critical to recognize those educators who are making great strides despite the increased challenges” of budget constraints.

“Teachers have a tremendous job with extremely high expectations and this is our way of recognizing their efforts and highlighting the excellent work that occurs within our classrooms regularly,” Mouton said.

The following is a list of winners from each of the local schools:

Alcova Elementary: Judy Tarver

Alford Elementary: Stephanie Engwall

Anderson-Livsey Elementary: Cecilia Anderson

Annistown Elementary: Deirdre Gambrell

Arcado Elementary: Dr. Vickie Nash

Archer High: Pam S. Autrey

Bay Creek Middle: Carter R. Still

Beaver Ridge Elementary: Nancy Luker

Benefield Elementary: Urike Brown

Berkeley Lake Elementary: Debbie Richardson

Berkmar High: Danny Greer

Berkmar Middle: Stephanie Bridges

Bethesda Elementary: Michael Stanton

Britt Elementary: Michelle Martinez

Brookwood Elementary: Sarah Mallow

Brookwood High: Cindy Bazzell

Buice School: Karen Willingham

Burnette Elementary: Lisa Moore

Camp Creek Elementary: Carol Frihart

Cedar Hill Elementary: Crystal Willis

Centerville Elementary: Emily Nelson

Central Gwinnett High: Lori Wood

Chattahoochee Elementary: Stefani Wood

Chesney Elementary: Kristen Easterling

Collins Hill High: Tara Termes

Cooper Elementary: Kelly Fisher

Corley Elementary: Karyn Graham

Couch Middle: Cyndi Cioffi

Craig Elementary: Elizabeth “Liz” Hiers

Creekland Middle: Jennifer B. Jankauskas

Crews Middle: Charlie Hollingshead

Dacula Elementary: Lisa M. Moore

Dacula High: Christy Belbey

Dacula Middle: Keri Beth Jones

Duluth High: Victoria Dodd

Duluth Middle: Neldra Allen

Duncan Creek Elementary: Debra Caton

Dyer Elementary: Lori Rowberry

Ferguson Elementary: Sandra Varajic

Five Forks Middle: Justin Gorun

Fort Daniel Elementary: Betty Roepe

Freeman’s Mill Elementary: Lois Sebastian

GIVE Center East: Cindy Long

GIVE Center West: April Greene

Grace Snell Middle: Andrew Cox

Grayson Elementary: Lisa Frost

Grayson High: Melissa Thomas

Gwin Oaks Elementary: Linda Layson

Gwinnett County Online Campus: Christian Gray

Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology: Jeff Burmester

Harbins Elementary: Michele Devlin

Harmony Elementary: Derrick Hutchins

Harris Elementary: Carrie Rice

Head Elementary: Liz Greene

Hopkins Elementary: Jessie Kelly

Hull Middle: Dora McKissock

Ivy Creek Elementary: Kimberly Hardy

Jackson Elementary: Amy Norris

Jenkins Elementary: Nicole Kidwell

Jones Middle: Susan Oates

Kanoheda Elementary: Roslyn Acosta

Knight Elementary: Altonise Henfield

Lanier High: Tamaiko Chappell

Lanier Middle: Janelle Wilson

Lawrenceville Elementary: Brenda M. Jones

Level Creek Elementary; Theresa Wiist

Lilburn Elementary: Tifferney Dodd

Lilburn Middle: Andrew “Drew” Schoen

Lovin Elementary: Nancy Streicher

Magill Elementary: Judy Peerless

Mason Elementary: Jeanne Kosmala

Maxwell High School of Technology: Scott Wilson

McConnell Middle: Lou Reynolds

McKendree Elementary: Jason Garner

Meadowcreek Elementary: Julie Elliott

Meadowcreek High: Dr. Karen Dickens

Mill Creek High: Aundrea Muth

Minor Elementary: Shawna Voight

Monarch School: Logan Flint

Mountain Park Elementary: Kristen Williams

Mountain View High: Debbie White

Mulberry Elementary: Brittany Palazzo

Nesbit Elementary: Lauren C. Evans

Norcross Elementary: Venice Hinds

Norcross High: Robin Watson

North Gwinnett High: James B. Stewart

North Gwinnett Middle: Sarah Black

Norton Elementary: Kathy Gosman

Oakland Meadow School: Sharon Vargo

Osborne Middle: Peggy Engelman

Parkview High: Carl Zimmerman

Parsons Elementary: Dr. Meaghan Wagar

Partee Elementary: Lisa Noel

Patrick Elementary: Allison Askew

Peachtree Elementary: Cathy C. Kreimer

Peachtree Ridge High: Lindsey Cafarella

Pharr Elementary: Jennifer Dunn

Phoenix High: Pasha Souvorin

Pinckneyville Middle: Robin Faulk

Puckett’s Mill Elementary: Angie Hoffman

Radloff Middle: Andrew Whatley

Richards Middle: Paula Richards-Bell

Riverside Elementary: Julie Hipple

Roberts Elementary: Susan M. Shumeyko

Rock Springs Elementary: Christa U. Webb

Rockbridge Elementary: Mary Butler

Rosebud Elementary: Dr. Ashlei Haskell

Shiloh Elementary: Candace Swords

Shiloh High: Kate Hoppenrath

Shiloh Middle: Traci Head

Simonton Elementary: Humphrey Fraser

Simpson Elementary: Kathy Russo

Snellville Middle: Michael A. Kelly

South Gwinnett High: Erica Poole

Starling Elementary: Tisha Williamson

Stripling Elementary: Kim Renfroe

Sugar Hill Elementary: Tammy Smith

Summerour Middle: Rebecca Searles

Suwanee Elementary: Melissa Dienhart

Sweetwater Middle: Patrick Shannon

Sycamore Elementary: Jill Moore

Taylor Elementary: Suzanne Boyd

Trickum Middle: Aimee Darwazeh

Trip Elementary: Debbie Partrick

Twin Rivers Middle: Peg Alton

Walnut Grove Elementary: Jaime Lamb

White Oak Elementary: Nick Boyers

Winn Holt Elementary: Tracey Rivers

Woodward Mill Elementary: Jeriann Garris


Rocket1300 3 years, 11 months ago

Someone's got to explain to me how a newly opened school, such as Moore Middle School in Lawrenceville have a "Teacher of the Year"? And school has just been opened five weeks yet we have Teachers of the Year already? Doesn't make much sense.


kdgqueen 3 years, 11 months ago

Rocket1300.....did you actually read the list? Because if you did you would see that Moore MS is NOT ON THE LIST because they are a new school.


dhsfan 3 years, 11 months ago

The timeline for selecting TOTY are driven by the deadline for applying for the state teacher of the year. TIme is needed to get through your local school and district process so they start early in the year. One of the criteria for picking a TOTY is they must have worked at that school for several years. so they are really being judge on previous years' accomplishments. BTW - congratulations to all of the winners!


Sign in to comment