Gwinnett to honor its best in lacrosse

Photo by Christine Troyke

Photo by Christine Troyke

The rapid addition of Gwinnett lacrosse programs into Georgia High School Association play shows the rapid growth of lacrosse. Another sign comes today when the Gwinnett County boys and girls lacrosse coaches will host their inaugural all-county banquet.

For the first time, enough Gwinnett teams play the sport to warrant an all-county team. The event is at 7 p.m. at Parkview High School’s theater.

The athletes honored on the teams are as follows:

All-County Boys

MVP attacker: Cory Hall, Peachtree Ridge

MVP midfielder: Harrison Cheeley, Wesleyan

MVP defender: Kolby Hanson, Grayson

MVP goalie: Alex Squires, Collins Hill

MVP specialty: Gary Heusel, Peachtree Ridge

First team


Michael Ruffcorn, Peachtree Ridge

Scotty Smith, GAC

Adam Printz, North Gwinnett


Tyler Botts, Peachtree Ridge

Tanner Botts, Peachtree Ridge

Jake Neill, GAC


Davis Bayles, Collins Hill

Nick Klinect, Wesleyan

Derek Stanley, Mill Creek


Greg Rose, Peachtree Ridge


Zach Strickland, GAC

Second team


Ben Mertz, Grayson

Cam Coval, Norcross

Conner Breslin, Wesleyan


Davis Diamond, Norcross

Nick Kozlowski, Mill Creek

Connor Boston, Collins Hill


Austin Crowe, Peachtree Ridge

Tyler Kemp, Mill Creek

Clayton Williams, Parkview


Cody Hendrix, Brookwood

Josh Parris, Grayson

Alex Schneider, Mill Creek


Aubrey Johnson, Collins Hill

Honorable mention

Holin Axley, Collins Hill; David Bryan, Mill Creek; Connor King, Parkview; Eric Reynolds, GAC; Zack Kennedy, Collins Hill; Zach Dirske, Grayson; Lee Ayres, Norcross; Michael Santry, Grayson; Aaron Amin, North Gwinnett; Dan Constant, North Gwinnett

All-County Girls

MVP attacker: Michelle Fortier, Peachtree Ridge

MVP midfielder: Courtney Batchelor, Wesleyan

MVP defender: Rachel Harper, Peachtree Ridge

MVP goalie: Eryn Bonds, Collins Hill

First team


Danielle Vincent, Collins Hill

Kelly Skoglund, Mill Creek

Ajahna Grosvenor, Duluth

Caroline Jordan, Wesleyan


Bethany Barbour, Parkview

Ali Cole, Duluth

Lizzy Eversbusch, Wesleyan


Sarah Curlee, Parkview

Kelsey Dedels, Collins Hill

Tess Collins, Collins Hill

Camille Davis, Brookwood


Lisa McManus, Parkview

Second team


Darsey Walker, Collins Hill

Alexis Ordini, Mill Creek

Meghan Greathouse, GAC

Lauren Clay, Brookwood


Megan Freeman, Grayson

Kelly Spevacek, Parkview

Lydnsey Kytle, GAC

Kat Tak, Brookwood


Amy Nicholos, Duluth

Lauren Beck, Peachtree Ridge

Erin Miller, Mill Creek

Sally Crocker, Peachtree Ridge


Erin Palanza, Peachtree Ridge

Honorable mention

Amanda Sanders, Peachtree Ridge; Juliet Tang, Parkview; Lauren Amisano, Collins Hill; Mckenzie Fagioli, Mill Creek; Laura Klaren, Norcross; Madison Tyndall, Collins Hill; Alex Crawford, Peachtree Ridge; Lyndsay Parris, Grayson; Tate Davis, Brookwood; Lindsey Thomas, Brookwood; Breanna Buckley, Mill Creek; Emily Yoder, Peachtree Ridge; Jasmine Thomas, Brookwood