Broncos' Jackson, Mallow honored

Photo by Brandon Brigman

Photo by Brandon Brigman

Brookwood dominated the All-Region 8-AAAAA girls basketball team voted on by the region’s coaches, sweeping the player and coach of the year honors.

Seniors Jazmine Jackson and Katie Mallow were voted co-region players of the year, while the Broncos’ Scott Terry was named the 8-AAAAA coach of the year. Brookwood finished the season with a 25-3 record and won both the 8-AAAAA tournament and the Deep South Classic.

Jackson and Mallow were joined on the first team by Parkview’s Katie Carroll and Erika Joseph, who helped the Panthers to the top seed from the region in the regular season.

South Gwinnett’s Tina Odume also was a first-team selection, while the Comets’ Kiara Baker made the second team.

The other second-team honorees were Brookwood’s Rebecca Walker, Berkmar’s Teanna Robinson and Ka’Vonne Towns and Central Gwinnett’s Taja Latimore.

Earning honorable mention honors from the region’s coaches were Archer’s Kayla Rogers, Berkmar’s Kenisha Watkins, Brookwood’s Autumn Adams and Courtney Gardner, Central’s Nia Hardy and Grayson’s Anna LaCavera.