14 earn master teacher designation

SUWANEE -- Several Gwinnett County Public Schools educators recently finished the school year certified as master teachers.

The 14 Gwinnett teachers earned the certification through a statewide program that honors experienced teachers who have made a difference in student achievement, according to a news release. The program is run by the state Professional Standards Commission.

The teachers earned the certification based on a comprehensive application process, along with evidence of demonstrated student achievement gains, the news release states. The certified master teachers become part of a pool of candidates eligible to become academic coaches, professionals who serve as mentors for their peers.

"As a district, we appreciate the Professional Standards Commission for highlighting the work of these professionals," said Jorge Quintana, spokesman for the school system. "We truly believe Gwinnett is home to some of the best educators in the profession and we congratulate this group for earning the master teacher designation."

This year's master teachers are:

* Jan Chastain, James A. Fisher Jr., Lacey Jakes and Jan Pruitt, all of Osborne Middle

* Marylee Duggins of Berkmar Middle

* Jill Lambes, Jane B. Moore, Michelle Ruhl and Sue Tavernier, all of Mulberry Elementary

* Brad Mayer of North Gwinnett Middle

* Betty McClam of Crews Middle

* Teri Schneider of Peachtree Ridge High

* Jean Sohn of Duluth Middle

* Stephanie Wilker of Puckett's Mill Elementary

Since 2006, 76 teachers from Gwinnett County have earned the master teacher certification.