Transportation Roundtable to host phone forum for residents

ATLANTA -- A series of telephone town hall meetings will allow members of the Atlanta Regional Transportation Roundtable to involve residents in selecting transportation improvements for the Atlanta region.

Beginning next week, residents of designated areas will be called at random through an automated system and invited to participate in the telephone forum, according to a news release. Those who choose to participate can discuss their priorities with roundtable representatives who are preparing to select projects to be funded by a regional penny sales referendum, which will go before voters in 2012.

The telephone meeting for Gwinnett County is scheduled for 7:15 p.m. June 20. To participate, residents simply stay on the line after answering their phones. They will be automatically connected to the meeting.

Anyone who doesn't receive a call, but wishes to participate in the meeting, can call a toll-free number and enter the appropriate PIN for their area. The phone number and PIN will be posted online at www.atlantaregionalroundtable.com.

"The goal of the Atlanta Regional Transportation Roundtable is to come together and, based on public input, create a robust list of transportation projects that will have a positive impact on families and businesses around the entire region," said Norcross Mayor Bucky Johnson, chairman of the Roundtable. "This is a great new way to use the latest technology to better communicate with the public. Not everyone can come to a public meeting. This technology allows us to come to the public. We encourage everyone who is called to participate in shaping our transportation future."

The Transportation Investment Act of 2010 divides the state into 12 regions for the purpose of voting on a 1 percent sales tax to fund transportation projects in that region. The Atlanta region contains 10 counties: Cherokee, Clayton, Cobb, DeKalb, Douglas, Fayette, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry and Rockdale.