YOUTH ROUNDUP: Comets win Dixie Youth title

8U/AA Grayson

8U/AA Grayson

For the first time in more than seven years, the SGAA South Comets T-Ball All stars won the championship in the Dixie Youth Baseball.

SGAA South Comets T-Ball All-Star team won the Dixie Youth T-Ball (B) District Championship over Norcross Red 13-3 on June 24.

The team was awarded the championship trophy, which will reside at SGAA Sports Complex in Snellville.

Team members are Chase Wright, Bryan Chesnut, Caden High, Christopher Arce, Justin McCarty, Brandon Fears, Nicholas Spry, Michael Martinez, Christain Miller, Bryce Kennedy, Kameron Bryd, Kevin Jackson.

The team is coached by Sam High, Kevin Jackson, Wilfredo Martinez and Jamar McCoy.

Grayson Blue wins Pee Wee kid state title

The AA 8U Pee Wee kid pitch state championship was held at Buford City Park on Legion field from June 25 to July 2.

The final two teams that played a three-game series for the title were the Grayson Blue All-Stars beating Grayson Green All-Stars 3-1 out of Bay Creek Park in Grayson.

There were 16 teams that made it from respective county divisional playoffs across the state. Gwinnett had eight teams out of the 16 make it to the state playoffs, which included two Buford teams, one Mill Creek team, two North Gwinnett teams and one Parkview team.

Team members for Grayson Blue All-Stars are Tyler Gray, Dakota Boeckman, Matthew McGinness, Gabe Hunt , Henry Hunter, Christian Linne, Justin Bogard, Pearson Hewatt, Jeb Cook, Walker Williams, Brenan Wheeler and Landon Spooner.

The team is coached by Blayne Hunt, Jason Cook, Matt Gray, Jim Spooner and Paul Hunter.

Team members for the Grayson Green All-Stars are Ian Schieffelin, Jake Craven, Grady Bryant, Jaren Harrison, Tommy Beuglas, Josh Bennett, Mitchell Pruehs, Michael Dagenhart, Garrett Brophy, Jackson Cown, Blaine Holliday, Patrick Leftwich

The team is coached by Tim Schiefflin, Darryl Bennett, Mark Craven, Scott Bryant and Mike Dagenhart.

Signature Park Hawks capture world series title

The 13U Signature Park Hawks won the Grand Slam World Series tournament on June 27 in Panama City Beach, Fla.

The Hawks beat teams from Texas, Florida and Georgia on their way to win the championship game, capping off another successful baseball season. On the final day of the tournament the Hawks had to play four games to capture the title, finishing strong with a dramatic last inning come-from-behind walk-off victory in the second game of the day and then completely shutting down the opposition in the final two games winning by a 4-0 margin in each game to win the championship.

The Grand Slam World Series tournament victory came on the heels of the 13U Hawks winning the 14U AAU Battle of the Bats tournament in Simpsonville, S.C.

Team members are Gabe Davenport, Austin Elliott, Michael Germano, Matthew Lewis, Brandon Marsh, Matthew Mastandrea, Loren Matzick, Tristen Powell, Zantravious Shields, A.J. Weed, Kobe Wharton, and Brett Whitford.

The team is coached by Rod Davenport, Doug Lewis, John Germano and Jake Marsh.

Lawrenceville all-star team honored by mayor

For the first time in more than 14 years a team from Rhodes Jordan park in Lawrenceville will be headed to the Little League 12U All Stars Georgia State tournament.

The games will be held July 16 in Troup County. Lawrenceville Mayor Judy Johnson recognized the team July 11 at the town meeting and presented them with a pin.

-- From staff reports

To be included in the youth roundup, fax information to 770-339-8081 or email to brandon.brigman@gwinnettdailypost.com. This feature runs as space permits.