TD Club of Atlanta to honor local players

The Touchdown Club of Atlanta will honor several local players at its season-ending banquet Saturday at the Ferst Center for the Arts at Georgia Tech.

The high school award winners include Brookwood’s Cameron Lynch, Blake Fussell and Nick Moore, North Gwinnett’s C.J. Uzomah and Wesleyan’s David Andrews and Kyle Karempelis. Carver-Columbus back and UGA signee Isaiah Crowell and South Carolina recruit Jadeveon Clowney will receive the top two high school awards.

Brookwood’s Mark Crews and Buford’s Jess Simpson will receive state coach of the year awards, including one to Simpson as the state’s overall coach of the year for all classes.

The event also will honor college coaches Gene Chizik of Auburn, George O’Leary of Central Florida and Ralph Friedgen of Maryland, along with college players Nick Fairley and Cam Newton of Auburn, Patrick Peterson of LSU, Rodney Hudson of Florida State and Randall Cobb of Kentucky.

Tickets to the banquet are $25 and can be purchased in advance at www.TouchdownClubofAtlanta.com or at the door. The reception begins at 6 p.m. followed by the banquet at 7:30 p.m.