Bostick, Turchin make Atlanta Track Club Hall of Fame

Two Gwinnett County running icons, Karl Bostick and Kathleen Turchin, were selected to the Atlanta Track Club's Hall of Fame at the recent All-Metro High School Cross Country Awards Banquet. They were in a three-person class that also included Tim Willis, a successful blind runner who went to Shamrock.

Bostick won six state championships in the 1980s and 1990s as Parkview's cross country coach. Turchin won four state titles and placed as state runner-up twice in her high school career at North Gwinnett prior to running in college at Chattanooga.

Former South Gwinnett coach Rick Wood was given the Jerry Frasier Award for longtime dedication to the sport at the event, while Brookwood's Ben Dehnke and Wesleyan's Chad McDaniel and Chris Yoder received coach of the year awards for this past season.

Peachtree Ridge's Josh Brickell, after winning the Class AAAAAA individual title last month, was given the Jeff Benton Award for top male cross country athlete.

Other local runners who made the all-metro team were Brookwood's Caroline Kissel, Wesleyan's Caroline Reed, Norcross' Katherine Yost, Collins Hill's Chloe Whitworth, Brookwood's Matt Barudin, Mill Creek's Mitch Flammang, Brookwood's Gabe Gomez, Wesleyan's Bradley Gossett, Shiloh's Bryan Kamau, Brookwood's Morgan Malanoski, Brookwood's Matthew McClintock and Mill Creek's Eric Westog.