POLITICAL NOTEBOOK: Suwanee, Snellville gearing up for mayoral races

Camie Young

Camie Young


Camie Young

Mayoral races are heating up for Suwanee and Snellville.

Suwanee’s qualifying period ended Wednesday with a mayoral race set between Councilman Jimmy Burnette and Dan Pittman. In Snellville, Councilwomen Barbara Bender and Kelly Kautz are squaring off for mayor, with qualifying continuing through Friday.

In both cities, incumbents are stepping down.

Also in Suwanee, Councilman Dick Goodman is unopposed but two people — Doug Ireland and Jimmy D. Spiro — are vying for Burnette’s old council seat.

In Duluth, Mayor Nancy Harris easily won another term, drawing no competition, as did Councilman Greg Whitlock. But two people — Dusty Graham and Kelly Kelkenberg — will face off for the seat being vacated by Doug Mundrick, who decided not to seek re-election.

In Grayson, Mayor Jim Hinkle is unopposed, and Councilwomen Allison Wilkerson Rooks and Katie Mitchell also drew no competition on the ballot by the end of the qualifying period Wednesday.

Braselton Councilmen Tony Funari and Richard Mayberry were the only qualifiers in their city.

In Dacula, Councilwoman Susan Robinson is unopposed, but both Vanessa Hall Green and former councilman Hubert Wells filed paperwork to run against incumbent Tim Montgomery.

Emails sent to Loganville and Buford officials requesting information about qualifying were not returned Wednesday.

In other Gwinnett cities, qualifying continues throughout the week.

In Berkeley Lake, Mayor Lois Salter filed paperwork seeking re-election and Bob Smith is seeking a council seat. The qualifying period ends at 4 p.m. today.

With two more days to file papers in Snellville, in addition to the mayor’s race, two people qualified to fill three vacant council seats: Dave Emanuel and Bobby Howard.

Lawrenceville’s P.K. Martin qualified for re-election and former Councilman Bob Clark qualified to seek the seat incumbent Katie Hart Smith has said she is vacating.

Norcross incumbents Craig Newton, Charlie Riehm and Mayor Bucky Johnson have not yet drawn competition, and neither have Sugar Hill incumbent Councilmembers Marc Cohen, Steve Edwards and Susie Gajewski.

A phone call to Auburn City Hall and an email to Lilburn were not returned.

Political Notebook appears in the Thursday and Sunday editions of the Gwinnett Daily Post.

Camie Young can be reached via email at camie.young@gwinnettdailypost.com.

For archived columns, go to www.gwinnettdailypost.com/politics.