Archer Tigers 2011 Football Preview

Archer Tigers 2011 Football Preview

Mascot: Tigers Coach: Andy Dyer (3-10 at Archer, 3-10 overall) Region: 8-AAAAA Last playoff appearance: N/A


Archer head coach Andy Dyer plans to continue to run his two-back, pro-style offense this season and much of its success hinges on the play of quarterback Jarvis Holley, who will be starting for the third straight year. Holley, one of the seniors on the team, passed for 1,272 yards last year and completed nearly 64 percent of his passes. He also rushed for 501 yards and is the Tigers' top returning rusher.

The stable of running backs is also deep, led by seniors Jermaine Morris (pictured) and Derrick Parker and juniors Ernest Alexander and Sean Fowler.

Averaging just over 13 points per game in 2010 (Archer's first in Class AAAAA) with two shutouts, the offense wasn't exactly a juggernaut, but 2011 could bring more points if the play of the offensive front pans out the way coach Dyer hopes.

Dyer plans to rotate as many nine different players up front, five of them seniors and four juniors, to help keep his line fresh throughout the game. Dyer points to the leadership of those seniors in Kieran Williams, Gavin Culbreath, Will Bryant, Romauld Kugbila and DeSean Harris as key factors.

"Last year, we would play great for three quarters and then make a couple of mistakes in the fourth that would just kill us," Dyer said. "We've got to be able to finish all four quarters."


The Tigers will employ a 4-3 scheme on defense this year, and with seven returning starters, look to be much more effective that they were last year.

Because the program is still young, Archer has several players who play on both sides of the ball. The defensive front is no exception as the offensive front also turns around to play on the defensive line. Adding to the talent on the D-line is Morris, who also will be heavily involved at fullback.

The linebacker corps also logged a ton of time on the field last year, led by Fowler, Keith Radford, Alexander and Derek Parker. The secondary is also quick and experienced with Brandon Weber and Trevellous Cheek at corner. One of the newcomers is sophomore safety John Gillis, a player coach Dyer is excited about for 2011.

2011 Schedule

Aug. 26 at Duluth

Sept. 2 Mountain View

Sept. 9 Grayson

Sept. 16 at Brookwood

Sept. 23 at Berkmar

Oct. 7 Shiloh

Oct. 14 Central Gwinnett

Oct. 21 at Dacula

Oct. 28 at Parkview

Nov. 4 South Gwinnett

2010 Results (2-8)

Duluth L 21-17

at Mt. View W 17-13

at Grayson L 55-0

Brookwood L 37-0

Berkmar L 35-19

at Shiloh W 17-14

at Central L 38-24

Dacula L 21-17

Parkview L 35-14

at South L 60-9

Special teams

Returning this season is kicker Zach Wachholz, a key player back who Dyer said needs to be more consistent with his touchbacks. The coach also said the Tigers need to get better in kick coverage, and getting better in both spots will take a little pressure off the defense.

Act II

One of the challenges in building a new program is the growing pains endured while playing young, inexperienced players. Archer's first two years have been no different, but Dyer's 2011 squad is starting to turn the corner with size and experience.

With a roster of over 70 players, dotted with 13 seniors, Dyer is hopeful that this year's team can better its 2-8 record from a year ago. Fifteen players return who logged time as starters last year (eight on offense, seven on defense), giving the Tigers experience that they lacked this time a year ago.

"It's our second year of AAAAA football and we're excited about our progress and the commitment level of our kids," Dyer said. "But we won't know where we are as a team until we get some games under our belt."


While Archer's roster continues to grow, so does its coaching staff. Dyer added three new assistants for 2011 while not losing anybody. The new faces are secondary coach Philip Hale (previously at Shiloh), defensive end and running backs coach Ted Wilson (Dacula) and junior varsity coach Andy Bennett (Collins Hill). "All three of those guys have been huge additions here at Archer in both the classroom and the football field," Dyer said. ... The Archer Touchdown Club members will be more comfortable at home game this year as the reserved section has added chairback seats.

-Scott Smith



QB Jarvis Holley, Sr.

RB Ernest Alexander, Jr.

RB Jermaine Morris, Sr.

WR Darius Williams, Jr.

WR Randall Smith, Jr.

or Will Kone, Jr.

TE Gavin Culbreath, Sr.

or Antonio Riles, Jr.

OL Hunter McClesky, Jr.

OL Kieran Williams, Sr.

OL John Case, Sr.

OL Will Bryant, Sr.

OL Romauld Kugbila, Sr.

PK Zach Wachholz, Jr.


DL Jermaine Morris, Sr.

DL DeSean Harris, Jr.

DL Marcus Lightford, Jr.

DL Jaypee Philbert, Jr.

LB Ernest Alexander, Jr.

LB Keith Radford, Jr.

LB Derrick Parker, Sr.

CB Trevellous Cheek, Jr.

CB Brandon Weber, Jr.

S John Gillis, Jr.

S Deondre Singleton, Jr.

P Zach Wachholz, Jr.

Archer Roster

1 Trevellous Cheek DB/WR 11

2 Jalen McCorvey LB/RB 11

3 Deondre Singleton DB/WR 11

4 Jarvis Holley QB 12

5 Cory Rogers DB 12

6 Zach Wright DB/WR 11

7 Chad Bird DB/WR 11

8 Ernest Alexander RB/LB 11

10 Devin Hale DB/RB 10

11 Will Kone WR/DB 11

12 Omari Murad WR/DB 11

14 K.J. Parmer QB/DB 10

15 Zach Wachholz PK/P 11

16 Josh Hunter WR/DB 11

17 Sam Buchanan QB/DB 10

18 Keith Radford LB/RB 11

19 Jovan Watson DB/WR 11

20 Sean Fowler RB/DB 11

21 John Gillis DB/RB 11

22 Derek Lee WR/DB 12

23 Travis Reid WR/DB 11

24 Howard Weatherspoon LB/RB 12

25 Quincy Prothro DB/WR 11

26 Brandon Weber DB/WR 11

27 Orlando Nawade DB/WR 11

28 Darius Williams WR/DB 11

29 Chaz Boards WR/DB 11

31 Derrick Parker LB/RB 12

32 Jermaine Morris RB/DE 12

33 Kaelestis Douglas DB/RB 10

34 Michael Sappleton Jr. LB/RB 12

35 Jinkenny Bazile RB/LB 10

36 Blake Woods RB/LB 10

37 Trevor Crockett DB/WR 11

38 Nicholas Thomas WR/DB 10

40 Jordin Shuriah WR/DB 10

41 Justin Guevara PK/P 10

42 Jake Vickery LB/TE 10

43 Emmanuel Osunlalu LB/RB 11

44 Chase Rogers LB/RB 10

45 Antonio Riles TE/DE 11

48 Duane Lee LB/RB 10

49 London Harris TE/DE 11

50 DeSean Harris DT/OL 11

52 Will Bryant C/DL 12

53 Tyler Hartsell OL/DL 10

55 Romauld Kugbila OL/DL 12

56 Jaypee Philbert OL/DL 11

57 John Case OL/DL 12

58 Brayden Clark OL/DL 10

60 Marquise Mincey OL/DL 11

61 Hunter McClesky OL/DL 11

62 Morgan Bartosz OL/DL 10

64 Collin Williams OL/DL 10

65 Carlton Nyandebu OL/DL 10

67 Marcus Lightford C/DT 11

70 Kieran Williams OL/DL 12

72 Andre Smellie OL/DL 11

78 DeAngelo Cummings OL/DL 10

79 Majah Couzan OL/DL 10

80 Jon Okoye WR/DB 12

81 Gavin Culbreath TE/DE 12

82 Randall Smith WR/DB 11

83 Tochi Ohuabunwa TE/DE 10

84 Kenny Muraoka WR/DB 10

85 Renardo Wynn WR/DB 10

86 David Mamadou DB/WR 12

87 Nicholas Byrd WR/DB 11

88 James Artemus DB/WR 10

89 Ted Wetherington QB/DB 11

90 Tregra Williams QB/WR 11

91 Michael Frye PK/P 10