GOOD NEWS FROM SCHOOL: Norcross students attend conference

NORCROSS — Twelve students from the Norcross Cluster represented Georgia at the 2011 Future Problem Solving Program International Conference held June 9-12 on the campus of the University of Wisconsin-LaCrosse.

Allison Fisher, a rising junior at Norcross High School, earned fifth-place honors in the senior division for Individual Global Issues Problem Solving, Pinckneyville Middle School rising seventh-graders Hallie Carton, Claire Doroff, Teresa Flynn and Jennifer Wang, along with Simpson Elementary student Jessica Cmeil placed second in the junior division for presentation of action plan.

Participating in the middle division team global problem solving competition were Pinckneyville Middle School rising eighth-graders Ian Campbell, Ryan Lockhorst, Caroline Reidy and Lindsey Song. Eliza Antonowich and Brantley Evans participated in the Alternates Competition.

Future Problem Solving Program International engages students in creative problem solving. Founded in 1974 by creativity pioneer Dr. E. Paul Torrance, the program aims to stimulate critical and creative thinking skills and encourage students to develop a vision for the future.

For more information, visit www.fpspi.org.

Gwinnett students get UGA scholarships

A group of University of Georgia incoming freshmen have been awarded the One UGA Scholarship and the Presidential Leadership Scholarship for the 2011-12 academic year.

The Presidential Leadership Scholarship is provided to students who have demonstrated outstanding leadership potential as well as strong academic accomplishments. It provides $3,000 per year in addition to the HOPE Scholarship to Georgia high school graduates.

The One Scholarship is provided to academically outstanding incoming students who will contribute to the diversity of the freshman class. Preference is given to those who are first in their families to attend college. It provides $1,500 per year in addition to the HOPE Scholarship to Georgia high school graduates.

Students who received the Presidential Leadership Scholarship included Tiffany Chu of Lilburn, Sarah Evans of Suwanee, Emilie Gulich of Auburn, Jayla Hood of Lilburn, Rahul Iyer of Suwanee, Nita Jain of Lilburn, Melinda Johnson of Dacula, Rachel Middleton of Norcross, Sarah Perry of Lawrenceville, Lee Turner of Dacula and Tiffany Wu of Lawrenceville.

Students who received the One UGA Scholarship included the following: James Hill of Lawrenceville, Xiaodong Hua of Lilburn, Hyo Jang of Suwanee, Mateo Villa of Lawrenceville and Shelby Bentley of Lawrenceville.

For more information, visit www.uga.edu/news.

Parkview High School grads win for comedy show

Steven Walker and Alex Middleton, both of Lilburn, recently won a Southeast Regional Emmy for their comedy show, “The Conference Room” on the Berry College “Viking Fusion” converged media website.

The show also won a national award last year from College Broadcasters Inc.

Walker and Middleton are graduates of Parkview High School.

For more information, visit www.berry.edu.

Young reviewer recognized

LAWRENCEVILLE — Nieko Ward of Creekland Middle School has been recognized for his participation in the BenBella Books Young Reviewers Circle and a book, “The Sword of Darrow,” has been awarded to his school library in his honor.

The BenBella Books Young Reviewers Circle is a program that allows students aged 7 to 14 years old to review an unpublished book.

Students chosen to read and review an advance copy of the book receive a published edition signed by both authors and have their names listed as reviewers in the back of the book.

“The input of these young reviewers was a key part in making our book the success it has become,” said Hal Malchow, a writing team member. “Reviewers like Nieko Ward provided a lot of smart suggestions that resulted in major changes that made our book much better. We were really lucky and proud to have him as part of our reviewing team.”

Frank Reddy writes about education. Good News From Schools appears in the Sunday edition of the Gwinnett Daily Post.