Parkview takes early lead to victory in Economics Challenge



Parkview High School came to play. Gwinnett County’s perennial economics powerhouse led throughout the competition and beat Fulton County’s Northview High School in the final Quiz Bowl event to be crowned Georgia’s 2011 National Economics Challenge winner.

The March 28 National Economics Challenge in Georgia brought 11 teams to Atlanta where the Federal Reserve Bank of Atlanta hosted the competition, conducted by the Georgia Council on Economic Education.

A test of academic excellence in economics, each group works as individuals on as a team, taking a series of tests on microeconomics, macroeconomics and international economics. The two teams with the best overall scores, Parkview and Northview, then competed in the final Quiz Bowl where they answers more questions on economics and current events in economics.

Economics teacher Gary Petmecky’s Parkview team of Sona Sadselia, Bryanna Paulukaitis, William Gausphol and Tim Wu led the fist round of testing and never looked back. Wu also won the award for having the highest individual score in the competition with a 270 out of a possible 300.

Parkview now represents Georgia in the Economics Challenge Regional Competition on Wednesday, where the top teams from each state will take a battery of tests to determine who goes on to the final round. After the regional competition, the highest-ranked six teams from across the nation will compete in the National Economics Challenge Finals on May 21 in New York City.

Corporations reward three GCPS graduating seniors

Three Gwinnett County Public Schools seniors scheduled to graduate in May have been named Corporate-Merit Scholars.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation recently announced that two Brookwood High students and one Collins Hill High student are part of a group of 1,000 distinguished students nationwide selected as recipients of the National Corporate-Sponsored Merit Scholarship.

The three winners from Gwinnett are Sokrat A. Bufi of Brookwood, who won the National Merit BB&T scholarship; Stephanie Johnson of Brookwood, who won the National Merit Georgia-Pacific LLC Scholarship; and Peter K. Schnaak of Collins Hill, who won the National Merit Chemtura Corporation Scholarship.

Most of the awards are renewable for up to four years of college undergraduate study and provide annual stipends that range from $500 to $10,000 per year. Some provide a single payment between $2,500 and $5,000. The scholarship recipients can use their award at any regionally accredited U.S. college or university of their choice.

Heather Darenberg writes about education. Good News From Schools appears in the Sunday edition of the Gwinnett Daily Post.