Prep Roundup: Mill Creek rolls to Silver bracket win

Photo by Brandon Brigman

Photo by Brandon Brigman

SUGAR HILL -- David Bryan and Nick Kozlowski eached scored three goals as Mill Creek cruised past Norcross 18-7 in the Silver bracket final of the Gwinnett County lacrosse tournament at Gary Pirkle Park.

Alec Bussink, Chas Welch and Brett Bailey each added two goals and Alex Schneider had 11 saves in goal for the Hawks.

Charlie Rhea and Cam Corvac each scored three goals for Norcross.


North Gwinnett 16, Brookwood 0

SUGAR HILL -- Led by Matt Palmer's six goals, North Gwinnett easily beat Brookwood 16-0 in the Silver bracket of the Gwinnett County Lacrosse tournament.

Adam Printz, Tyler Ortolano and Nico Helper each scored two goals and Ronnie Adams and Joe Whitaker chipped in three assists for the Bulldogs (6-6).


North Gwinnett 3, Duluth 1

SUWANEE -- Three assists by Caroline Gualdone helped carry North Gwinnett to a 3-1 Region 7-AAAAA win Saturday.

Gualdone found Taylor Burns, Lauren Harriman and Kristin Tamburo for goals in the Bulldogs' (14-3, 5-1) win.


North Gwinnett 5, Duluth 1

SUWANEE -- Five different players scored a goal as North Gwinnett rolled past Duluth 5-1.

Roberto Hinojosa, Matthew Melton, Sean Knight, Andres Pena and Luis Alonso all scored for North (10-7, 3-3).

Brookwood 2, Parkview 1 PKs

LILBURN -- Trevor Mooney scored Brookwood's lone goal five minutes into the second half to tie the game at 1-1, and the Broncos beat Parkview 4-3 in penalty kicks Saturday.


South Gwinnett 12, Central Gwinnett 3

LAWRENCEVILLE -- Ryan McDowell (3-for-5) and Keith Chaney (1-for-3) each had three RBIs in South Gwinnett's 12-3 win over Central Gwinnett.

Austin Williams went 3-for-3 with two RBIs in the win and Thomas Embry pitched all seven innings, allowing two earned runs off four hits, striking out eight for the Comets (6-2).

To report scores, call 770-339-5850. Scores must be reported before 10:15 p.m. every day with the exception of Tuesday and Friday to be included in the next edition. Deadline for Tuesday is 10:30 p.m. and Friday is 10:45 p.m.