Brookwood principal chosen as Outstanding Educator of the Year

Debbie Dees

Debbie Dees

SNELLVILLE -- Two Georgia professional educator groups have selected a veteran administrator in Gwinnett County Public Schools as the Outstanding Educator of the Year.

Debbie Dees, who serves as Brookwood High's principal, received the 2010 Jim Puckett Outstanding Educator Award from the Georgia Association of Educational Leaders and the Georgia Association of Secondary School Principals. The award is named after a former executive director of GAEL.

As this year's honoree, Dees is recognized as an educator who possesses an exemplary record of service in educational leadership and exhibits leadership characteristics that are considered a positive role model for others, the school district announced Wednesday.

"Clearly, Debbie Dees exemplifies the qualities of an outstanding educator and leader," said Area Superintendent Calvin Watts, who supports the Brookwood cluster. "Brookwood High has a tradition of excellence that Ms. Dees has cultivated. In doing so, she has exhibited outstanding leadership and has challenged her school community to achieve at increasingly higher levels."

As the selection team considered Dees for the honor, members looked at her demonstration of effective leadership and management skills, how she has implemented new ideas and projects at Brookwood High, and her contributions to the educational leadership profession, as well as her participation in professional growth activities, and her contributions to the profession and the school's community.

This school year marks two decades of service with Gwinnett County Public Schools for Dees. She joined the school system in 1990 as a teacher and coach at Meadowcreek High. Six years later she became a Bronco at Brookwood High where she has been a teacher, coach and assistant principal. She was named Brookwood High's principal in 2007. Dees also has taught in several other schools in Georgia.

The Gwinnett County Board of Education will honor Dees at its monthly meeting tonight in recognition of this recent award.