SPORTS IN BRIEF: Eagles to hold college signing ceremony

Eagles to hold college signing ceremony

Collins Hill will host a ceremony at the high school theater on Nov. 29 to honor six athletes who signed letters of intent with college programs. The event begins at 2:30 p.m.

The signees include softball players Christina Parham (Northwest Florida State College), Shelley Sweatt (Anderson University) and Ariele Patterson (Kent State), as well as baseball players A.J. Farris (Marshall) and Morgan Ownbey (Georgia College and State University) and golfer Lauren Court (Georgia State).

Broncos sweep top 8-AAAAA softball honors

Region 8-AAAAA champion Brookwood dominated the all-region fastpitch softball team that was voted on by the region’s coaches.

The Broncos were named team of the year and Bill Batchelor was coach of the year, while Jessica Neidigh was player of the year and Brandi Jones was pitcher of the year. Brookwood also got three position players on the all-region team — Jenny Blackwell, Mandy Blackwell and Megan Litumbe.

Amanda Chambers of Parkview and Kanani Cabrales of Grayson were the all-region pitchers. The other all-region position players are Parkview’s Katie Block and Sara Coker, Grayson’s Taylor Denton, Dacula’s Katelyn Daniels, Central Gwinnett’s Kara Hembree and Archer’s Lynsey Folkerts, Taylor Albritton, Jenna Graham and Alesha Mann.

Suwanee’s Reynolds named to Southern Tennis Hall of Fame

Suwanee resident Candy Reynolds was selected this week for induction into the Southern Tennis Hall of Fame, the USTA Southern section announced Friday.

Reynolds, who grew up in Knoxville, Tenn., won 28 Women’s Tennis Association doubles titles, including the 1983 French Open. She will be inducted along with Henry Baughman, a Smithfield, Ky., resident who has won a record 18 National Public Parks championships, and Ron Holmberg, a New Orleans resident who was ranked No. 7 in the world in 1960 and spent nine years among the top 10 U.S. singles players.

The induction ceremony will be Jan. 22 in Atlanta.