Williams, Carter lead Gwinnett Tipoff Club honors

Central Gwinnett's Brian Williams and Buford's Andraya Carter took the top honors as boys and girls players of the year in voting by the Gwinnett Tipoff Club, which held its season-ending banquet Sunday at Archer.

Williams led the Black Knights to the Final Four in Class AAAAA, knocking off defending champion Wheeler along the way. Carter led Buford to its second straight AA state title this past season.

The girls teams and coaches who won state titles were honored as co-coaches and co-teams of the year -- Wesleyan's Jan Azar, Buford's Gene Durden and Norcross' Angie Hembree.

It was the same situation with Greater Atlanta Christian's Eddie Martin and Wesleyan's Skip Matherly sharing coach and team of the year honors.

Two special Joe Marelle Courage Awards were presented to high school girls -- Brookwood's Amanda Riley and North Gwinnett's Rachael Brucks.

The club also announced its all-county teams and scholar-athletes. Those are as follows:

2010 Gwinnett Tipoff Club All-County Teams


First team

K'Vonne Towns, Berkmar

Jazmine Jackson, Brookwood

Katie Mallow, Brookwood

Ce'Aira Latimore, Central Gwinnett

Taylor Johnson, Collins Hill

China Vinson, Dacula

Kayla Nolan, Duluth

Chaney Means, GAC

Kristina Nelson, GAC

Taren White, Grayson

Jac' Weathers, Mill Creek

Moneshia Simmons, Mill Creek

Bailey Holmes, Mountain View

Briana Jordan, Norcross

Diamond DeShields, Norcross

Kaela Davis, Norcross

Annie Wheeler, North Gwinnett

Stephanie Wheeler, North Gwinnett

Katie Carroll, Parkview

Lauren Coleman, Parkview

Brittany Jack, Peachtree Ridge

Tajshiana Westbrooks, Shiloh

Tina Odume, South Gwinnett

Erin Hall, Wesleyan

Holli Wilkins, Wesleyan

Honorable Mention

Janetta Felton, Archer

Sammy Healy, Archer

Autumn Adams, Brookwood

Rosa Powell, Brookwood

Alysha Rudnik, Buford

Lacey Pass, Buford

Shereese Williams, Buford

Bri Hampton, Central Gwinnett

Bria Young, Collins Hill

Breanna Overby, Dacula

Domonique Miller, Duluth

Clarke Boards, GAC

Sierra Lawrence, GAC

Anela Durmic, Grayson

Alicia Brookins, Mill Creek

Sierra Menzies, Mill Creek

Emery Buckner, Mountain View

Alex DeMercy, Norcross

Judean Hanks, Norcross

Abby Slocumb, North Gwinnett

Erika Joseph, Parkview

Maggie Smith, Parkview

Erika Waters, Peachtree Ridge

Erika Gotfredson, Providence

Alyssa Aitken, Shiloh

Pilar Smith, Shiloh

Grace Leah Baughn, Wesleyan

Kennington Groff, Wesleyan

Logan Morris, Wesleyan

Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Archer: Sammy Healy

Berkmar: Sabina Kurian

Brookwood: Hayley Hodgson

Central Gwinnett: Gabbie Lackey

Collins Hill: Emily Buck

Dacula: Taryn Anthony

Duluth: Domonique Miller

GAC: Christine Young

Grayson: Lauren Ball

Hebron: Megan Griffin

Meadowcreek: Courtney Fields

Mill Creek: Erica Grimes

Mountain View: Shannon Thompson

Norcross: Mary Ann Sims

North Gwinnett: Annie Wheeler

Parkview: Maggie Smith

Peachtree Ridge: Claire Hays

Providence: Stephanie Cailor

Shiloh: Sherry Mujkanovic

South Gwinnett: Danielle Blount

Wesleyan: Grace Leah Baughn


First Team

Thomas Higginbotham, Brookwood

T.J. Shipes, Buford

Jordan Adams, Central Gwinnett

Ayo Madamidola, Central Gwinnett

Saah Nimley, Collins Hill

Shay Agboola, Dacula

Malcolm Brogdon, GAC

Paul Dawson, GAC

Trent Wiedeman, GAC

Javarris Smith, Grayson

Terrance Glass, Meadowcreek

Lavon Hooks, Meadowcreek

Kyle Speller, Mill Creek

Marty Johnson, Norcross

Jeremy Lamb, Norcross

Malcolm McDonald, Norcross

Alex Tiller, North Gwinnett

Delano Spencer, Parkview

C.J. Blackwell, Peachtree Ridge

Corbyn Moye, Shiloh

John Harris, South Gwinnett

Adonis Harrison, South Gwinnett

Javonte Maynor, South Gwinnett

Andrew Frerking, Wesleyan

Griffin Schamp, Wesleyan

Honorable Mention

Randall Smith, Archer

Dinesh Brown, Archer

Yonell Brown, Berkmar

Taylor Mann, Brookwood

Kwabena Frimpong, Central Gwinnett

Kyron Anderson, Central Gwinnett

Terrance Hutchins, Dacula

Avonte' Hall, Duluth

Zane Cobb, Duluth

Elliott Long, GAC

Andrew Osemhen, Grayson

Ciavy Wiles, Grayson

Aaron Robinson, Meadowcreek

Brandon Hayman, Mill Creek

Connor Day, North Gwinnett

Matt Walker, North Gwinnett

Christian Patterson, Parkview

Anthony Parker, Parkview

Daryan Griffin, Peachtree Ridge

Wes Caver, Wesleyan

Scholar-Athletes of the Year

Archer: Philip Harris

Berkmar: Ben Wibonele

Brookwood: Taylor Mann

Buford: Jake Burnette

Collins Hill: Bryant Oliver

Dacula: Dexter Walker

Duluth: Myles Campbell

GAC: Paul Dawson

Grayson: Max Fairclough

Hebron: Josh Lowery

Meadowcreek: Deondre Lucas

Norcross: E. Victor Nickerson

North Gwinnett: Patrick McCarthy

Parkview: Trey Sexton

Peachtree Ridge: Victor Ozieh

Providence: Matt Cleveland

Shiloh: Tashaun Juncke

South Gwinnett: Javonte Maynor

Wesleyan: Andrew Frerking