Eagles take top honors at county wrestling banquet

The Gwinnett County wrestling coaches held their season-ending banquet Monday at Parkview High School and Collins Hill brought home three of the top honors.

State champion Joel Smith was selected wrestler of the year after posting a 48-4 record and winning his second Class AAAAA state championship. Collins Hill coach Cliff Ramos was named coach of the year and the Eagles were honored as team of the year after winning the Class AAAAA dual and traditional state titles and a No. 9 national ranking.

Mill Creek's Austin Hagan was honored with the Matt Peddicord Award, Nick Lukacs was given the Randy Bortle's Award, which goes to the top official, and Daily Post staff writer Brandon Brigman was named man of the year.

The coaches also selected their first and second all-county teams in addition to honorable mention, scholar athletes and sportsmanship award.

The following wrestlers were named to those teams:

First team

103 pounds: Drew Ferguson, Collins Hill, Soph.

112: Bazell Partridge, Collins Hill, Jr.

119: Greg Epps, North Gwinnett, Sr.

119: Zack Rindik, Wesleyan, Jr.

125: T.J. Mitchell, Collins Hill, Sr.

130: Kevin Ulmer, Parkview, Sr.

135: Devante Brown, Collins Hill, Sr.

140: Allen Willard, Collins Hill, Sr.

145: Joel Smith, Collins Hill, Sr.

152: Tsvetomir Petrushev, Peachtree Ridge, Fr.

160: Zeke Hunt, Dacula, Sr.

171: Nick Holbert, Collins Hill, Jr.

189: Mac Bennett, Collins Hill, Jr.

215: C.J. Collins, Collins Hill, Sr.

285: Jacob Aiken-Phillips, Central Gwinnett, Jr.

Second team

103: Sean Thomas, Brookwood, Jr.

112: Brandon Bullock, Dacula, Jr.

119: Ryan Mosley, Shiloh, Soph.

125: Nick Isburgh, Grayson, Sr.

130: Darius Bryant, South Gwinnett, Sr.

135: Steven Epps, North Gwinnett, Jr.

140: Clint Jones, Parkview, Sr.

145: Josh Tolman, Wesleyan, Sr.

152: Jamie Hertica, Collins Hill, Sr.

160: Carl Rider, North Gwinnett, Soph.

171: Michael Chapman, Peachtree Ridge, Jr.

189: Viktor Cheban, Berkmar, Sr.

189: Daniel Bowen, North Gwinnett, Sr.

215: Matt Johnson, Parkview, Sr.

285: Thomas Delain, Collins Hill, Sr.

Honorable mention

103: Conor Fitzpatrick, Wesleyan, Fr.

103: Dalon Dantzler, Shiloh, Fr.

112: Zach Taylor, Wesleyan, Soph.

112: Spencer Hutchins, Buford, Sr.

112: Nick Shaw, Mill Creek, Soph.

112: Dalton Daniel, North Gwinnett, Soph.

119: Joseph Doyague, Collins Hill, Jr.

119: Kalif Raymond, GAC, Soph.

119: Dallas Brown, Mountain View, Soph.

125: Alex Sierota, Wesleyan, Sr.

125: Tax Torbit, Parkview, Jr.

130: Steven Bradtmueller, Collins Hill, Soph.

135: Enrique Martinez, Berkmar, Sr.

135: Nic Diaz, Central Gwinnett, Jr.

135: Josh Bloodworth, Peachtree Ridge, Sr.

140: Rhett Delk, Wesleyan, Fr.

140: Evan Greer, Duluth, Jr.

140: Thomas Veal, South Gwinnett, Soph.

145: Varsay Sesay, Archer, Jr.

145: Greg Cordle, Brookwood, Sr.

152: Andrew Whited, Wesleyan, Sr.

152: Radu Roscot, Mill Creek, Sr.

160: Phillip Bowman, Dacula, Jr.

160: John Mosley, Wesleyan, Jr.

160: Eric Yoon, Norcross, Sr.

171: Jared Hemmings, GAC, Jr.

171: Matt Barlow, Wesleyan, Sr.

189: Joseph Pardo, Meadowcreek, Sr.

215: Brandon Cassady, Grayson, Sr.

Scholar athletes

Taylor Brittian, Archer

Phillip Nguyen, Berkmar

Lane Fincher, Brookwood

David Petroni, Buford

Nic Diaz, Central Gwinnett

Nick Holbert, Collins Hill

Michael Allmon, Dacula

Gabe Cunningham, Duluth

Parker Embry, GAC

Wilsom Omesiete, Grayson

Mitch Loving, Mill Creek

Rashard Brown, Mountain View

Richard Williams, Meadowcreek

Ben Epley, Norcross

Dalton Daniel, North Gwinnett

Clint Jones, Parkview

Brandon Anglese, Peachtree Ridge

Darly Singleton, Shiloh

Brandon Dillard, South Gwinnett

Sam Barlow, Wesleyan

Sportsmanship award

Taylor Brittain, Archer

Justin Malone, Berkmar

Trevor Pace, Brookwood

Jacob Aiken-Phillips, Central Gwinnett

Pat Riley, Collins Hill

Vitaliy Yarmurity, Dacula

Noah Cunningham, Duluth

Caleb Bumpers, GAC

Austin Martin, Grayson

Austin Ross, Mill Creek

Thomas Adams, Mountain View

Joseph Pardo, Meadowcreek

Whitley LaMontagne, Norcross

Tony Garren, North Gwinnett

Clint Jones, Parkview

Jonathan Rodriquez, Peachtree Ridge

Adan Velasquez, Shiloh

Shabaka James, South Gwinnett

Jimmy Dugal, Wesleyan