Hawks, Norcross lead region honors

Mill Creek's Moneshia Simmons and Norcross' Jeremy Lamb were selected as players of the year by the Region 7-AAAAA coaches, who announced their season-ending awards Wednesday.

Simmons and Lamb were joined by their coaches, Mill Creek's Ashley Phillips and Norcross' Jesse McMillan, as coaches of the year. The Mill Creek girls and Norcross boys, both region champions, also were selected as teams of the year.

The coaches also voted on all-region teams and the girls first-teamers included three Norcross girls -- Briana Jordan, Diamond DeShields and Kaela Davis. North Gwinnett's Stephanie Wheeler, Peachtree Ridge's Brittany Jack and Duluth's Kayla Nolan also were first-teamers, where they were joined by Northview's Sydney Wallace and Chattahoochee's Erika Ford.

The girls second team included Collins Hill's Taylor Johnson and Bria Young, Mill Creek's Jac Weathers, North Gwinnett's Abby Slocumb, Peachtree Ridge's Erika Waters, Chattahoochee's Alexis Alexander and Kayla Upchurch, South Forsyth's Kristen Ebert and North Forsyth's Sidney Seitz.

Norcross' Malcolm McDonald was a first-team boys selection along with Lamb. The other first-teamers were Peachtree Ridge's C.J. Blackwell and Daryan Griffin, Collins Hill's Saah Nimley, Mill Creek's Kyle Speller and Brandon Hayman, North Gwinnett's Alex Tiller and Chattahoochee's Jason Blossomgame.

The boys second-team list featured Collins Hill's Herdie Lawrence, Peachtree Ridge's Jordan Grant, Duluth's Avonte Hall, Norcross' Marty Johnson, North Gwinnett's Conner Day, North Forsyth's Riley Smith, Northview's Mackeile Satchell and Alex Flagler and South Forsyth's Nick Graf.