GWINNETT GAB: Lawrenceville resident named GOAL winner

LAWRENCEVILLE — Tai Le, a radiologic technology student from Lawrenceville, is the winner of Gwinnett Technical College's 2010 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership.

The Technical College System of Georgia sponsors the GOAL program, which recognizes outstanding technical college students and honors excellence in academics and leadership. Local GOAL winners are selected at each of the state's 26 technical colleges.

A 4.0 student, Le is recognized on campus for her academic skills and leadership qualities, as well as her passion for her field and her love of learning.

Le was nominated by Jim Sass, program director for radiologic technology, who said, "Tai Le has an engaging personality and is well liked by everyone she encounters. She is a young person who was successful in the work force, but realized that there was probably more to life. She decided that a professional education would be beneficial to her in the long run and choose to continue her education at Gwinnett Tech."

Sass adds that Le has the ability to balance life with her new husband, her family and other demands while maintaining academic excellence achieved during prerequisite courses and in a very demanding 40-hour per week program.

As Gwinnett Tech's GOAL winner, Le will continue on to the statewide GOAL competition. If she wins the state competition, Le will earn a medal and serve as an ambassador for technical education in Georgia.

Catholic School hosts fundraiser

LILBURN — St. John Neumann Regional Catholic School will host "A Night at the Races" Saturday in Donnellan Hall on the school's campus, located at 791 Tom Smith Road in Lilburn.

Doors will open at 6:30 p.m. The event will feature food and live and silent auctions. Proceeds will benefit the school.

Reservations are requested. Call 770-381-0557 for ticket information.

Auburn's community yard sales to begin

AUBURN — The city of Auburn will host the second annual series of community yard sales from March through September.

Scheduled for the second Saturday of each month, the kickoff is from 8 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday in the heart of downtown Auburn.

Booths are $10 each. which covers advertising and promotion, and sellers must provide their own setups and displays.

For information on how to register, call Charlotte at 770-963-4002 ext. 223.

Grayson Schools hosts gala auction

SNELLVILLE — The Grayson Cluster Schools Foundation will host a Gala Auction at 7 p.m. Saturday at the Summit Chase Country Club in Snellville.

All funds raised will be used to enhance and enrich education for all of the schools in the Grayson cluster.

Three community leaders will be honored during the event:

• John Campbell, principal at Osborne Middle School, for his vision to start a public school foundation for education

• Jerry Raymond, principal at Pharr Elementary, for his continued support and hard work with the teachers in the cluster to obtain grants for their classrooms and schools

• Tom Perdue, founder of Black Diamond Communites, for his financial support building the foundation and continued support.

History competition winners announced

LAWRENCEVILLE — Lauren Blessing, a student at Collins Hill High School, was named the Senior Division overall winner and the first-place winner in the Senior Individual Exhibit category in the District I History Day Competition at the University of Georgia.

Using the theme "Innovation in History," individual and group projects included papers, documentaries, Web sites, exhibits and performances. More than 100 sixth- through 12th-grade students and teachers representing 32 counties in Georgia participated in the annual competition held in February, sponsored by the UGA Office of Academic Special Programs.

Blessing will advance to the state contest for National History Day in Georgia on May 1 at Macon State College. At each level of competition, participants are recognized through certificates, medals, trophies or monetary awards.

Other Gwinnett winners:

• Trent Keatley, Craig McCown and Tahmid Mohiuddin, Collins Hill High, first place in Exhibit Group — Senior.

• Caitlyn Youngblood and Lexie Bell, Collins Hill High, second place in Exhibit Group — Senior.

• Katha Patel and Mitch Kyle, Collins Hill High, third place in Exhibit Group — Senior.

• Lauren Blessing, Collins Hill High, first place in Exhibit Individual — Senior.

• Giovanni Righi, Collins Hill High, second place in Exhibit Individual — Senior.

• Katharine Frechette, Collins Hill High, third place in Exhibit Individual — Senior.

• Matt Hester, Collins Hill High, second place in Paper Individual — Senior.

• Nancy Chung, Collins Hill High, third place in Paper Individual — Senior .

• Nadia Sanjaya and Melissa Moore, Collins Hill High, first place in Web site Group — Senior.

• Will Teich, Walter Mertins and Sarah Nagy, Collins Hill High, second place in Web site Group — Senior.

• Alykhan Lalani, Collins Hill High, first place in Web site Individual — Senior.

• Anay Nawathe, Collins Hill High, second place in Web site Individual — Senior.

• Royce Baptist, Collins Hill High, third place in Web site Individual — Senior.

• Zoe Robbins, Andrew Schwab and Grainne Hutton, Norcross High, first place in Documentary Group — Senior.