Gwinnett Tech radiology program earns accolades

Gwinnett Technical College radiologic technology program students and faculty have received awards, scholarships and accolades from the Georgia Society of Radiologic Technologists and Emory Johns Creek Hospital Auxiliary.

Chief among the honors is the naming of Gwinnett Tech radiologic technology instructor Chris Kowtko as the 2010 Technologist of the Year by the Georgia Society of Radiologic Technologists

"What's impressive is that the board of directors at the organization had to agree on who to choose for that award," said Jim Sass, radiologic technology program director. "Her win is well deserved. She is extremely active within the state and the community."

Additionally, Gwinnett Tech's 2010 Georgia Occupational Award of Leadership winner, Tai Le, was awarded a $500 Tolan Scholarship from the Georgia Society of Radiologic Technologists. Le, a radiologic technology student, also won a $2,000 Bob Osborn Scholarship from the Emory Johns Creek Hospital Auxiliary.

The Bob Osborn Scholarship was expanded this year to include three additional recipients who each received $1,000 scholarships. Those recipients were Gwinnett Tech students Nicole Bell, Jessica Sargent and Michelle Mason.

"We're so thankful that the Emory Johns Creek Hospital Auxiliary was willing to do all that for us," Sass said. "They expanded the scholarship offering for our deserving students, and we really appreciate that."

Gwinnett Tech offers an associate degree in Radiologic Technology, plus certificate programs for magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) specialist and computed tomography (CT) clinical specialist.

Gwinnett student awarded UGA's Foundation Fellowship

The class of 2014 at the University of Georgia will include 15 students -- including one from Gwinnett -- who have been awarded the Foundation Fellowship, the university's premier undergraduate scholarship.

Anisha Ramchandra Hegde, a Brookwood High School graduate, was selected as a Fellow. Her parents are Lilburn residents Ramchandra and Madhuri Hegde

The Foundation Fellowship provides academic enrichment and cultural opportunities, including international travel-study, research conferences support and internship and public service experiences to recipients who exhibit the qualities of outstanding future leaders and scholars.

In-state students receive an annual stipend of $9,000 in addition to the HOPE Scholarship. Out-of-state students receive an annual stipend of $14,700 and out-of-state tuition waivers.

The Foundation Fellows enroll in UGA's academically rigorous Honors Program and receive individual attention and support from a senior faculty mentor and a current Fellow. They also participate in program events throughout the academic year such as dinner seminars in the homes of faculty and special meetings with distinguished visiting speakers.

The Fellows were chosen from 948 applicants. Finalists attended a campus interview weekend in February. The visit included faculty-led seminars, social gatherings with current Fellows, and a round of interviews with senior faculty, Foundation trustees, Fellows alumni, and university staff.

The Foundation Fellows may renew the scholarship for an additional three years as long as they maintain cumulative 3.5 grade-point averages and are in good standing with the Honors Program.

The Foundation Fellows program was created in 1972 by the trustees of the University of Georgia Foundation to provide academically outstanding undergraduates with an enriched educational experience. The 15 incoming freshmen will bring the current number of Fellows to 73.

Heather Darenberg writes about education. Good News From Schools appears in the Sunday edition of the Gwinnett Daily Post.