Glads release protected list

The Gwinnett Gladiators hockey team released its protected list of 18 players Wednesday, giving that designation to seven defensemen, 10 forwards and one goalie.

The largest group of protected players are forwards Jason Lawrence, Tom Zanoski, Matt Francis, Scott Mifsud, Mike Radja, Pat Bateman, Adam Berti, Brad Schell, Matt Caruana and Dan Sullivan.

Also on the list were defensemen Jamie Fritsch, Sean Hurley, Josh Engel, Drew Paris, Sam Roberts, Phil Youngclaus and Nick St. Pierre. The only protected goalkeeper was David Brown.

Teams were allowed to protect as many players as they wish provided the players meet certain guidelines defined in the Collective Bargaining Agreement between the ECHL and the Professional Hockey Players Association.